Saturday, October 29, 2016

Matt Kuchar makes hole-in-one, doesn't 

 win car prize because of ridiculous rule


A rich PGA US Tour star not getting to keep a shiny new car is the height of a first-world problem. But what happened to Matt Kuchar at the WGC-HSBC Champions in Shanghai today still falls under the category of highway robbery.
Kuchar made a hole-in-one on the par-3 17th in the third round, just a few feet away from a Cadillac that's on display as a prize for such a shot. So why is the car staying in China and not being shipped to Kuchar's driveway? Because of some fine print.
Apparently, the shot had to be at least 200 yards for any player to win the vehicle. And on Saturday, with the tee moved up because of course conditions, the hole was  playing only193 yards. What a dagger!
The rule was posted before the start of the round. It had nothing to do with the organisers of the tournament.
The problem was the hole-in-one insurance proviso that was established before the tournament. But really? A 193-yard ace is no good? That's rough.
Kuchar shot 68 and is tied for eighth place through three rounds at nine under. Hideki Matsuyama is 17 under and has a three-shot lead over defending champ Russell Knox.
The AP's Doug Ferguson talked to Kuchar and his caddie, John Wood, after. Although the pair were disappointed, at least the odd situation didn't totally catch them by surprise.
"Don't worry about a hole-in-one today," Wood joked with Kuchar before he hit his shot. "We don't get the car."
But still. . .
"I was teased by this beautiful car sitting there that's not to be mine," Kuchar said.
Yep, you got robbed, Kuch. But something tells us you'll be OK.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google