Saturday, July 29, 2017

Ian Angus wins NE District seniors title over

home course at Duff House Royal

Local knowledge paid off for Duff House Royal Golf Club's one-handicap member Ian Angus when he won the North-east District seniors championship over the Banff course with a scratch round of  three-over-par 71.
Angus had a birdie at the par-5 12th and bogeys at the third, sixth, 14th and 17th in halves of 36 and35.
Angus, who won the title at Insch in 2012 and finished fifth last year, had a shot to spare over joint runners-up, clubmate Mike Jenkins, winner in 2004 and 2005, and Donald Smith (Portlethen).
Jenkins had halves of 34 and 38 ... a double bogey 6 at the 16th ruined his chance of heading Angus.
Smith was ahead of the field when he turned in 33 but it went pear-shaped for him on the inward half with bogeys at the 12th, 13th, 15th, 17th and 18th.
There was a field of 71 competitors, the majority from the Duff House Royal club.
Marshall Leisure continued their sponsorship of the over-50s tournament.

players from Duff House Royal unless stated
71 Ian Angus
72 Mike Jenkins, Donald Smith (Portlethen).
74 Albert Smith.
75 Gareth Kelly, William Methven (Royal Aberdeen), Andrew Laird (Royal Aberdeen), Barry Brooks (Meldrum House).
76 Graham McLaggan (Bon Accord), Duncan Clark.
77 Eric Thomson, Innes Miller (Banchory).
78 Les McCulloch, Stewart Finnie (Caledonian).
79 Gary McDonald, Mike Herbertson (Newmachar), Andrew Ironside (Fraserburgh).
80 Alan Ross (Cullen).
81 James W Turner (Fraserburgh)
82 Kenneth McPherson.
83 James W Robertson
84 Jim Duncan, David A Fleming (Portlethen), Bill Wiseman, Jesus Marin.
85 George M Young (Inverallochy), Ray Logie (Kemnay), Peter Clark (Cruden Bay), George Jack.
86 Colin Craig (Kintore), Alan (Bertie) Stewart, Kenny Morrice (Fraserburgh), Charlie Mackie (Inverallochy), George Arnold (Newmachar).
87 Forbes McLennan (Royal Aberdeen), Ian Stephen (Fraserburgh).
88 Alan Donaldson (Newmachar), John Sim, George Moir, Ian Gatt.
89 Peter Walker (Cruden Bay), George Cardno (Inverallochy).
90 George Muirhead (Fraserburgh), Ronald Barclay, Alex Noble (Fraserburgh), George Ritchie (Inverallochy).
91 Graham Penny (Portlethen), Brian Sutherland, Ian Y Hardie, David Steele.
92 Roy Watterson (Meldrum House).
93 Colin Gordon, James Ritchie (Inverallochy), Eddie Williamson (Fraserburgh), Hamish McNaughton (Cruden Bay).
94 James Sharp.
95 John Harrison (Newmachar), Rayner Sim (Fraserburgh), Gordon Paterson.
97 Gibby Whyte (Fraserburgh).
98 Tommy Stewart.
99 Barry Evans.

67 G Kelly (DHR) (8), M  Jenkins (DHR) (5)
68 D Smith (Portlethen) (4)
69 A Laird (Royal Aberdeen (5)
70 I Angus (DHR) (1), A Smith (DHR) (4), W Methven (Royal Aberdeen) (5), L McCulloch (DHR) (8).

68 Forbes Allan (Inverallochy) (21), Bill Wiseman (DHR) (16)
71 Jesus Marin (DHR) (13), Alan Bertie Stewart (DHR) (15).
72 George Moir (DHR) (16).
73 George Jack (DHR) (12), Kenny Morrice (Fraserburgh) (13) Charles Mackie (Inverallochy) (20), Colin Gordon (DHR) (20).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google