Monday, May 01, 2017

Steven O'Hara wins £300 Young Pros' prize at

Linlithgow with a 68 in tough conditions


Steven O'Hara (North Lanarkshire Leisure), a trainee professionial in TartanTour terms but the oldest player in the field of 46 at the Young Professionals' Order of Merit Sprint Series event at Linlithgow Golf Club today, won the £300 first prize with a two-under-par round of 68, excellent scoring in very cold and very windy conditions.
Steven (pictured) birdied the third, fifth, 13th and 14th in halves of 33 and 35 with bogeys at the fourth and short 17th.
O'Hara, whose younger brother Paul won his first competition since becoming a full professional only a week or two ago, won by a single shot from Marc Owenson (Gullane) (35-34) and Louis Gaughan (Bathgate) (33-36).
Owenson ran up a double bogey 6 at the third while Gaughan had six birdies but five bogeys. Both earned £175.
Alistair Forsyth (Mearns Castle), like Steven O'Hara a trainee pro with more competitive experience than his younger rivals, shared fourth place with Graham Forbes (Mar Hall) on the 71 mark. They earned £110 each.

Par 70
68 S O'Hara (N Lanarkshire Leisure) £300.
69 M Owenson (Gullane), L Gaughan (Bathgate) £175 each.
71 A Forsyth (Mearns Castle), G Forbes (Mar Hall) £110 each.
73 S Binning (Mearns Castle), D Stein (Ranfurly Castle), T Higson (Gleneagles) £85 each.
74 C Curran (Bathgate), A O'Donnell (Largs), C Farrell (Cardross), R Tinker (Piperdam), G McDougall (Elie Links), K Nicol (Dunes Golf Centre), S Maxwell (Eastwood) £60 each.
75 S Watters (Baberton Park).
76 A Hutchison (Douglas Park).
77 R Munro (Duddingston), D Flanner (Caldwell), J Dick (Duddingston).
78 D Lee (unatt).
79 S Houlden (East Kilbride), H Burness (Paul Lawrie GC), K Zeynalov (Portlethen), P McGhee (Royal Burgess), R Delaney (Ladybank).
80 A Pillans (Banchory), Katy McNicoll (Gullane), R Clarke (Golf Dedication Centre).
81 S Milne (Balbirnie Park), N Gardiner (Cawder), O Robertson (Panmure).
82 Hannah Robb (Elie Links), F Smith (Great Western Golf).
83 S Fisher (Portpatrick Dunskey), G Foley (Royal Troon)m, C McQueen (Greaves Sports).
84 Linzi Allan (West Kilbride), D Grindell (Inverness), D McBratney (Carnwatch), F Pomfret (Trump Turnberry).
85 C Allison (Glenbervie), M O'Donnell (Linlithgow).
86 M Bradfield (Elie Links).
89 Callum Fountain (unatt).

To view all the scorecards




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google