Monday, April 10, 2017



 Jack Davidson and Robin Dawson have been invited to join the Great Britain and Ireland squad which is being considered for the 46th Walker Cup match against the United States at Los Angeles Country Club in September. 
Both players have enjoyed strong starts to the season and have been added to the initial 19-man squad announced in January.
Davidson recently won the individual event at the European Nations Cup and was part of the winning Welsh team. He also won the Spanish International Amateur Championship last month. In January, the Wales international finished third at the South American Amateur Championships staged in Buenos Aires. He is the third player from Wales in the squad. 
Dawson, an R&A Foundation Scholar, was runner-up in the European Nations Cup individual event and the South African Stroke Play Championship. He also played in the Cape Province Open in South Africa where he finished third. Dawson is the sixth Irishman in the squad.
Craig Watson, Great Britain and Ireland captain, said, “Jack and Robin have been playing exceptional golf recently and their invitations to join the squad reflect the excellent results they have achieved so far this year.
“They have played their way into contention for team selection and there is still the opportunity for others to do the same as we move into the domestic season.”
The squad will gather at Royal Lytham next month ahead of the Lytham Trophy which starts on May 5.
The final ten-man GB and I team will be announced in August. The match is played on 9 and 10 September.

The GB and I squad:
David Boote (Walton Heath, Surrey)
Barry Hume (Haggs Castle, Glasgow)
Daniel Brown (Masham, Yorkshire)
Robert MacIntyre (Glencruitten, Argyll and Bute)
Colm Campbell (Warrenpoint, County Down)
Paul McBride (The Island, Dublin)
Jack Davidson (Llanwern, Newport)
Bradley Moore (Kedleston Park, Derbyshire)
Robin Dawson (Tramore, County Waterford)
Conor O'Rourke (Naas, County Kildare)
Owen Edwards (Llanwern, Newport)
Marco Penge (Golf at Goodwood, Sussex)
Alex Gleeson (Castle, Dublin)
Alfie Plant (Sundridge Park, Kent)
Scott Gregory (Corthampton, Hampshire)
Craig Ross (Kirkhill, Lanarkshire)
Stuart Grehan (Tullamore, County Offaly)
Sandy Scott (Nairn, Highland)
Craig Howie (Peebles, Borders)
Connor Syme (Drumoig, Fife)
James Walker (Oaks, Yorkshire)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google