Saturday, April 01, 2017

Graeme Robertson leads first round of Champion of Champions with a 65

Some great scoring in the early stages of the 72-hole tournament that really opens the top-class domestic open season - the Scottish Champion of Champions event, hosted and organised by the Leven Golfing Society.

Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie), pictured, leads the way with a bogey-free, six-under-par 65, birdies at the third, fifth, seventh (out in 31), 10th, 11th, 12th (back in 34).
The three players sharing second place on 66 also had bogey-free, birdie-pack rounds.
Euan McIntosh (Turnhouse) birdied the sixth, 11th, 13th, 14th and 16th in halves of 33.
Jamie Stewart (Old Ranfurly) birdied the third, sixth and 10th before he eagled the 12th.
Former Scottish amateur champion Barry Hume (Haggs Castle) had seven birdies in his 66 (31-35) although he started with a bogey at the relatively easy first hole. Then came the torrent of birdies at the second, third, sixth, ninth, 11th, 12th and 17th. But for a bogey at the 18th, Barry would have been sharing the first-round lead.
Last year's Scottish boys champion Eric McIntosh is in fifth place with a 67.
There is no halfway cut in this four-round competition.

par 71
65 Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie).
66 Euan McIntosh (Turnhouse), Jamie Stewart (Old Ranfurly), Barry Hume (Haggs Castle).
67 Eric McIntosh (Bruntsfield Links).
69 Dan Lawrence (Ballumbie Castle), Christopher Low (Tantallon).
70 Mark Napier (Turnhouse), Kyle Godsman (Moray).
71 Matthew Clark (Kilmacolm), Fraser Carr(Crail GS), Chris Hutcheon (Monifieth), David Mitchell, jun (Leven Th).
72 A J Sutherland (Cupar), D Dougan (Drumpellier), P Johnson (Hawick), G H Bolton (Bute), S Roger (Cruden Bay), A McDougall (Elderslie), C Fyfe (Cawder), J Forbes (North Area Authority).
73 T Beattie (Grangemouth), E Wood (Crow Wood)
74 C Pirie (Millport).
75 D Hulston (Dollar), W C Morrison (Haggs Castle), I Ross (Alloa), S Lockhart (Bathgate), D Imrie (Lundin), J Shaw (Boat of Garten), C Giffen (Lundin).
76 C Lamb (Newmachar), M Pennycott (Royal Burgess)

77 L Morgan (Dunbar)

78  G Yates (Colville Park), D Murray (Blairgowrie), S Thomas (Erskine), S Rennie (Drumpellier).
79 C Cox (Falkirk).
81 G Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert).
82 J Sloan (Doon Valley)





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google