Monday, November 12, 2007

English Golf Union Press Release


Teenagers Sam Hutsby and Chris Wood will attempt to maintain England’s fine record in the event when they represent the EGU in the Juan Carlos Tailhade Cup in Argentina later this month.
England are the defending champions following the superb victory by Seve Benson and Ed Richardson at Los Lagartos County Club in Buenos Aires a year ago.
Hutsby from Hampshire and Gloucestershire’s Wood will tee off over the same course from November 22 to 25 and attempt to bring the title back to England for the fifth time.
Benson and Richardson won by eight strokes last year in this 72-hole, two-man team event in which both players’ scores count.
Hutsby, 19, England boy captain in 2006, has been an international for the past four years. A former under-16 and boy cap, in September he made his full England debut in the Home Internationals in Ireland.
In 2006 he also won the Spanish Amateur and the Duke of York Young Champions tournament and was third in the Daily Telegraph Junior Championship. This year he has won the George Henriques Salver for the best score by a GB&I player aged under 20 in finishing joint fourth in the Brabazon Trophy while his other victories included the St Mellion International.
Wood, who will turn 20 the day after the Buenos Aires event, has also shone over the last two years. Victories in his native Gloucestershire and in the South West at junior level have been followed by the Gloucestershire Championship last year and a runner-up spot in 2007.
He also finished fifth in the South of England Stroke Play last year and was a quarter-finalist in the Italian Amateur. In 2007 he has won the West of England Stroke Play and the Russian Amateur, finished runner-up in the South West Championship and the Tillman Trophy and reached the quarter finals of the Amateur Championship.
These successes saw him finish No.1 on the PING/EGU Order of Merit for 2007 and, like Hutsby, he made his full England debut as a member of the triumphant Home Internationals team.
England’s previous triumphs in the Talihade Cup came in 2000 with Nick Dougherty and Gary Wolstenholme, in 2001 by Zane Scotland and David Skinns and in 2003 with Gary Lockerbie and Michael Skelton before last year‘s success.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google