Monday, May 08, 2017

AYRSHIRE MATCH-PLAY CHAMPIONSHIP - Draw for the 2017 championship at Prestwick

The 2017 Ayrshire Match-play Championship will take place at Prestwick Golf Club from Monday 8th to Thursday 11th May, with the field of 16 players being decided at the Stroke-play Championship which took place at Western Gailes on Sunday 7th May.

With some players unavailable for the matchplay championship, the eventual cut fell at 153, with two of four available players on that score securing a place in the field.

The new Ayrshire Stroke-play Champion, Alan Connery (Irvine), leads the qualifiers, facing the final qualifier Greg Watson (West Kilbride) in the opening round, whilst the defending Match-play Champion, John Shans (Irvine), who claimed the second last qualifying spot, will face the runner-up in the Stroke-play Championship, Iain Brown (West Kilbride)

Play in the opening round of the match-play on Monday night will commence around 4.45 p.m.

The full draw for the opening round of the championship on Monday is :-

Alan Connery (Irvine) v Greg Watson (West Kilbride)

Paul Denim (Loudoun) v Alyx Murray (Troon Welbeck)

Jim Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) v Ben Gibson (Troon Welbeck)

Sandy Buchanan (Prestwick St Nicholas) v Shaun Hedger (West Kilbride)

Iain Brown (West KIlbride) v John Shanks (Irvine)

Darren Mallinson (Irvine Ravenspark) v. Robbie Muir (Kilmarnock Barassie)

Stephen Spence (Royal Troon) v Andy Gibson (Irvine)

Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle) v Andy Brown (West Kilbride)

Michael Smyth (Royal Troon)
Sandy Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie)
James McMurdo (Ballochmyle)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google