Saturday, June 24, 2017

Forsyth's smash and grab win at Bathgate pro-am

Alastair Forsyth (Mearns Castle) smashed through a leaderboard logjam - six players tied on par 71 - with a scintillating round of three-under 68 in very windy conditions to win the Bathgate Golf Club pro-am by three strokes at the head of a field of 40 competitors.
It was his third Tartan Tour pro-am win of the season, following successes at Pollok and West Lothian and his 12th top 10 finish.
The first prize of £1,332 was Forsyth's biggest of the season and boosted his earnings to £7,310.
His smash-and-grab victory was achieved with an eagle 3 at the fifth and birdies at the first, seventh, 12th and 16th in halves of 33 (three under) and 35 (level par) . He bogeyed the fourth, 13th and 17th.
The six who tied for second place - last year's winner Chrisopher McMaster (Downfield), Stephen Gray (Lanark), Jonathan Lomas (Caprington), Steven O'Hara (North Lanarkshire Leisure), Graeme Brown (Montrose Links) and Robert Arnott (Bishopbriggs) - earned £615 each.
Andrew Marshall (Houston Golf Range) led the Jim Jamieson Juniors team of Josh Beveridge (handicap 11), James Wood (16) and Charlie Mowbray (18) to victory in the pro-am by two strokes with a net score of 56,
The pros with the leading five teams each earned £160. The others were:
58 A Forsyth. 59 G Forbes. 60 G Forbes. 61 G Hay.

par 71
68 A Forsyth (Mearns Castle Golf Academy) (£1,332)

71 C McMaster (Downfield), S Gray (Lanark), J Lomas (Caprington), S O'Hara (North Lanarkshire Leisure), G Brown (Montrose Links), R Arnott (Bishopbriggs) (£615 each).
72 C Marr (Musselburgh), G Hutcheon (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre, Inchmarlo), C Currie (Caldwell), R Cameron (Saltire Energy), M Patterson (Kilmacolm) (£232 each).
73 C Matheson (Falkirk Tryst), J Sharp (Carrick on Loch Lomond), P McKechnie (Braid Hills) (£160 each) 
75 C Ronald (Carluke), A Marshall (Houston GR), S Clelland (Hayston), P O'Hara (North Lanarkshire Leisure), G Wright (West Linton), L Gaughan (Bathgate) (£90 each).
76 D Stein (Ranfurly Castle), G Forbes (Mar Hall), C Allison (Glenbervie).
78 N Fenwick (Dunbar), C Adam (Harburn).
79 G Fox (Clydeway Golf), S Henderson (Kings Links), G Hay (Grantown on Spey).
80 G Cook (Elie Links), J McGhee (Swanston New), J McCreadie
81 V Brown (Logos GM), F Rummins (Canmore).
83 G Miller (Royal Cinque Ports), G Hardy (Prestwick St Nicholas), M Kanev (Bruntsfield Links).
85 D-R Nicol (Dundonald Links).
Disqualified - N Huguet (Musselburgh).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google