Thursday, May 11, 2017

Graham rings the bell to lead Seniors

at Tain with a 67


Last year's order of merit winner, Graham Bell (Downfield), leads the way with a three-under-par 67 at the end of the first round of the Scottish Seniors Golfing Society's North of Scotland Open championship in bright sunshine and a light breeze at Tain.
The early starters  had the slightly easier conditions as the wind was a bit stronger in the afternoon.
Bell got off to the best possible  start with a birdie at the first, but dropped a shot at the seventh to go out in lever par 35. His score was made with a back nine of 32 (three under par).

An uncharacteristic double bogey at the 11th was more than
cancelled out with birdies at 10, 13, 14, 17 and 18. 

Graham put his good round down to the fact that he drove the ball well and holed some  good putts on the firm but smooth greens.
Bell leads by one stroke from Robert Smith (Nairn) and David Campbell (Ratho Park) who both scored 68. 

Smith had a very steady round of 16 pars and two birdies, at the fifth and 13th. 
Campbell was less consistent, having five birdies in a front nine of 32 but bogeys at the 17th and 18th  He was heading for a tournament-leading round of 66 until he bogeyed both the 17th and 18th for a 68.
David, playing off three, leads the handicap scores with a net 65, four shots ahead of a group of six players with net 69s.
players on 69.

Tain Golf Club
Par 70, SSS 72, CSS 72.

67 G Bell (Downfield).
68 R W Smith (Nairn), D R Campbell (Ratho Park).
70 D Logie (Craigie Hill).
71 I Jeen (St Andrews New), A Stracey (Denham), S Henderson (Hamilton).
72 I Brotherston (Dumfries and Co), A Belford (Prestwick St Nicholas), N Robson (Meldrum House), P McKellar (Royal Troon).
73 R Clark (Erskine), R Craw (Glenbervie), J Watt (Edzell), B Smith (Glasgow), A Macgregor (Hazlehead).
74 D Gardner (Broomieknowe), P Hendry (Alloa), P Moultrie (Royal Troon), D W Templeton (Murcar Links).
75 K Reilly (Silverknowes), D Martin (Carnoustie), N Lamond (Balmore).
76 G C  Barrie (Callander), G Tough (Edzell), I Angus (Duff House Royal), R Johnston (Glenbervie), J McDobald (Cowglen), M Lindsay (Broughty), G MacDonald (Glenbervie), L Chancellor (Inverness), I Christie (Mortonhall).
77 M M MacLeman (Moray), N McGarva (Kilmacolm), J Archibald (Luffness New), J Emslie (Royal Aberdeen), A T Campbell (Murcar Links), K McArthur (Balbirnie Park), K Bruce (Edzell), J McArthur (St Andrews New), L Gordon (Turnhouse) B Halbert (Callander).
78 M J Dean (Moray), A K Helm (Merchants of Edinburgh), B Bingham (Royal Troon), J Gullen (Tillicoultry) D Shields (Glenearn), D J Smith (Stirling), J Aman (Grangemouth).
79 D Hamilton (Mortonhall), D Taylor (St Andrews New), G Grimmer (Nigg Bay), M B Jenkins (Duff House Royal), N Dyce (Strathmore), S Drysdale (Glenbervie), L Blair (Grangemouth), S Finnie (Caledonian), E Robertson (Stirling).
80 T Anderson (Downfield), G J Rodaks (Pitreavie), G Lamond (Glasgow), D Riddell (Glenbervie), T Patterson (Sunningdale), K Thomson (Bramall Park), C Mavor (St Andrews New).
81 A J Laird (Deeside), A W Brown (Carnoustie), D Waddell (Glasgow), L Taylor (Kirriemuir), K Harrison sen (Peebles), R M Farquhar (Carnoustie), K Renton (Lundin), D Pearson (Royal Dornoch).
82 R Spence (Newtonmore), D Paton (Dunnikier Park), A J Smith (Turriff), D O  Albutt (Royal Dornoch).
83 P D Sinclair (Invereness), S Baker (Crail GS), D Nelson (Aboyne), R Gray (Rowallan Castle), J A Harper (Wick).

84 W J Skene (Deeside), I S Kerr (Kilmacolm).
85 J L S Kinloch (Cardross), P B Kinloch (Cardross), D Halkerston (St Andrews New), W Barclay (Downfield).
86 P Dempsey (Tulliallan), R Scott (Downfield).
90 N Chisholm (Kemnay).
98 A Hogg (Stirling).
NRs I McKerron (Balmore), K Ross (Beith).
Retired: G A Taylor (Turnhouse).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google