Wednesday, January 25, 2017

Central Scotland Order of Merit

Entries are now open for the 2017 Central Scotland Order of Merit. 

Now in its third year, the CSOOM was set up to stimulate participation in Scotland's 36 hole scratch open competitions, particularly targeting Category 1 golfers who cannot commit to competing in the National order of merit 72 hole events. 

The order of merit is made up of competitions in Glasgow, Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, Dunbartonshire and Ayrshire, with a couple of special additions such as Blairgowrie (Perth and Kinross) and Ladybank (Fife). 

To join the order of merit you must have a handicap of 6 or less. There are 20 events in total with points awarded based on final positions in each event. 

At the end of the season the points from each player’s top 6 events are added to determine their total points for the year. 

Whilst the competitions and points are awarded based on scratch performance, there is a handicapping system in place, to ensure a level playing field: 

Playing handicap Starting points 

Better than SCR 0
SCR 25
1 or 2 50
3 or 4 150
5 or higher 200

The scoring system is as follows: 

Position Points
Winner 100
2nd - 5th 75
6th - 10th 50
11th - 20th  25
21st - 30th 10

Last year over 30 players joined the CSOOM with vouchers awarded for the top 10 finishers. In an exciting Cawder’s Andy Fairbairn won the season ending Arrol Cup to tie early pace setter Ed Wood for the top spot. 

To enter, or to request more information please follow send us a message on Facebook or email 



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google