Wednesday, April 04, 2018

Savage leads with 67 at EuroPro Tour Final Q School
Scot Jamie Savage holds a one-shot lead at the PGA EuroPro Tour Qualifying School final stage after a brilliant five-under-par round of 67 in the first of four rounds at Frilford Heath Golf Club.
Savage, attached to Cawder Golf Club, heads into the second round with a one-stroke lead over his nearest rivals after collecting just one bogey  on the Blue course at the Oxfordshire venue.
Billy Watson (North Hants Golf Club), tied for fifth on 69, stole the show with a stunning hole-in-one albatross at a 316-yard par 4 hole. 
Savage is closely followed by Englishmen George Twyman (Marbella Golf Country Club) and Kealan Lowe (The Wheatley Golf Club), and Isle of Man’s Tom Gandy who all shot rounds of 68
 Paul Lawrie's elder son Craig came back in 32 for a 71 and is in joint 16th position. He birdied the seventh, 10th and 16th.
Also on the one-under-par mark is Craig Ross (Kirkhill) and Forres amateur Jeff Wright, the North Scottish Alliance champion for the past two season.
Highlight of Wright's card was an eagle 3 at the 10th. He also birdied the second and eighth.
Newmachar tour pro John Duff is T67 after a 73.
Players are competing to earn the highest possible category on the 2018 PGA EuroPro Tour. All those who have progressed to Final Stage have already earned at least a category 14, with golfers making the cut at the Final Stage cut earning a minimum category 10 and the top 30 earning a category 3.
Some 240 golfers are play ing one round each on the Red and Blue Courses at Frilford Heath before a cut to the leading 80 players and ties at the end of play on Thursday. They will play a concluding 18 holes on the Blue Course on Friday

Frilford Heath GC, Oxfordshire

par 72
67 J Savage (Cawder)
68 G Twyman (Marbella), K Lowe (Wheatley), T Gandy (Rowany)
69 B Watson (North Hants), K Lloyd (Wellingborough), H James (Kidderminster), D Boote (Walton Heath),  O Clarke (White Rose), R Mabb (Parkstone) (am), A Stone (Lancaster)
70 C Farrelly (TPS), J Kroetemeijer (unatt), R Prophet (Waste Management), C Selfridge (Moyola Park).

71 C Lawrie (Paul Lawrie GC), C Ross (Kirkhill), J Wright (Forres) (am) (T16).
72 P McKechnie (Braid Hills), J Gallagher (Duddingston), L Morgan (Dunbar), L Allan (Alva), R McCance (Chippenham)(T34)
73 J Duff (Newmachar), A Sutherland (Cupar) (T67)
74 N Henderson (Renaissance), J Taylor (unatt), D Hendry (Blackstar) (T97)
75 G Hay (Grantown on Spey), L Saltman (Renaissance), L Gaughan (Bathgate), J McColl (Kingsbarns PA) (T123)
76 S Kiloh (Paul Lawrie GC) (T148)
77 R Campbell (Falkirk), J Mullaney (unatt) (T183)
78 P Shields (Paul Lawrie GC), E Bradley (unatt), K Zeynalov (Portlethen) (T208)
79 B Murray (Portlethen) (am) (T221)





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google