Tuesday, July 11, 2017




Aberdeen's Nick Robson (Meldrum House) earned himself top-seed status for the Scottish Seniors Golfing Society's match-play championship by a four-stroke margin at the end of the 36-hole qualifying competition at Alyth. 
He added a level par round of 70 to his opening 67 for a three-under-par total of 137 over the par 70 course.
Second seed is David Logie (Craigie Hill), who scored rounds of 69 and 72 for a total of 141. 
Robson had a very steady second round with a solitary bogey at the 6th being cancelled out immediately with a birdie at the 7th. The course is in excellent condition but  some tricky pin placings made scoring difficult.
One notable absentee is the holder, Ronnie Clark (Erskine) who was unable to compete due to business commitments.

The draw for the match-play stage, which start this morning (Wednesday) is:
N Robson (Meldrum House) v R Gray (Rowallan Castle), A Smith (Turriff) v D Waddell (Glasgow), T McLevy (Blairgowrie) v M Townsley (Dumfries and Co), I Brotherston (Dumfries and Co) v G Barrie (Callander), R W Smith (Nairn) v A Grounds (Falkirk Tryst), L Blair (Grangemouth) v S Drysdale (Glenbervie), W Erskine (Kilsyth Lennox) v N Dyce (Strathmore), K Bruce (Edzell) v I Fraser (Dumfries and Co)

D Logie (Craigie Hill) v G Curran (Mortonhall), T Patterson (Sunningdale) v K Gardiner (Panmure), J A Fraser (Royal Burgess) v D Martin (Carnoustie), S Finnie (Caledonian) v L Chancellor (Inverness), G McNab (Lundin) v D Hamilton (Mortonhall), P Dempsey (Tulliallan) v G MacDonald (Glenbervie), G Bell (Downfield) v D Shields (Glenearn), L Gordon (Turnhouse) v J Johnston (Northumberland).

Jenkins and Scott leading qualifiers in Super Seniors (over-65s)

A Super Seniors (over 65) match-play event is being run in conjunction with the main event.  This is played on a handicap basis and the leading qualifiers were William Jenkins (Eastwood) (6) and John Scott (Grange) (6) on 145. 
The draw for the Super Seniors match-play is:
W Jenkins (Eastwood) v A Laird (Deeside), G Rodaks (Pitreavie) v J Broadfoot (Turnberry), J Scott (Grange) v L Clark (Edzell) and P Kinloch (Cardross) v G Thomson (Glasgow).
Both events are sponsored by McCrea Financial Services

par 140 (2x70)

137 N Robson (Meldrum House) 67 70
141 D Logie (Craigie Hill) 69 72
142 G McNab (Lundin) 71 71

143 R W Smith (Nairn) 73 70
144 W Erskine (Kilsyth Lennox) 71 73
145 G Bell (Downfield) 75 70, J A Fraser (Royal Burgess) 72 73
146 S Finnie (Caledonian) 69 77, T McLevy (Blairgowrie) 73 73, I Brotherston (Dumfries and Co) 72 74
147 K Bruce (Edzell) 74 73, L Gordon (Turnhouse) 75 72, K Bruce (Edzell) 74 73, L Blair (Grangemouth) 73 74.

148 P Dempsey (Tulliallan) 72 76
149 T Patterson (Sunningdale) 77 72
150 A J Smith (Turriff) 75 75, D Waddell (Glasgow) 73 77, K Gardiner (Panmure) 72 78.

151 G MacDonald (Glenbervie) 75 76.
152 S Drysdale (Glenbervie)  77 75, I Fraser (Dumfries and Co) 76 76, J Johnston (Northumberland) 74 78.
153 G J Rodaks (Pitreavie) 77 76, J Broadfoot (Turnberry) 76 77, L Chancellor (Inverness) 76 77, J McManus (Uphall) 76 77, G C Barrie (Callander) 75 78, M Townsley (Dumfries and Co) 74 79, D Martin (Carnoustie) 74 79.
154 D Shields (Glenearn) 75 79.
155 N Dyce (Strathmore)b81 74, W Jenkins (Eastwood) 79 76, A Grounds (Falkirk Trust) 77 78, J Scott (Grange) 77 78, D Hamilton (Mortonhall) 76 79, G Thomson (Glasgow) 76 79.
156 L Clark (Edzell) 81 75, P Hardwick (Newbattle) 78 78, I Stewart (Glenbervie) 77 79, G Curran (Mortonhall) 75 81.
157 R Gray (Rowallan Castle) 81 76.
158 A J Laird (Deeside) 80 78.





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google