Friday, July 28, 2017

Binning, McBain and Forsyth tie for Balgownie

victory and earn £1,475 each

The last scheduled Grampian-Houston pro-am at Royal Aberdeen produced a three-way tie for first place between Sam Binning (Mearns Castle Golf Academy), Greg McBain (Newmachar) and Alastair Forsyth (Mearns Castle Golf Academy).
The trio each shot two-under-par 69s by different routes and earned £1,475 apiece.
It was Binning's first win of the 2017 Tartan Tour, McBain's second and Forsyth's fifth.
Binning should have an £1,850 first prize all to himself because he was four-under-par standing on the 16th tee ... and bogeyed that hole and also the 18th.
McBain too bogeyed Balgownie's testing last hole - especially when the wind is blowing - after birdieing the third, sixth, 14th and 17th.
Forsyth  had an eagle 3 at the sixth and birdies at the second, fifth and short 17th.

Mark Hillson (St Andrews for Golf) finished outwith the individual prizelist with a 77 but he led the D F Communications amateur trio to victory in the pro-am team event with a best ball score of 11-under-par 60, which earned Mark £200.
His amateur partners were Craig Forsyth (11), Stuart Forsyth (15) and Jim Leighton (14).
Graeme Brown, Gavin Hay, Graham Fox and Michael Patterson, the pros associated with the next four teams - all on 61, also earned £200 each.
Royal Aberdeen Golf Club
Par 71
69 S Binning (Mearns Castle), G McBain (Newmachar), A Forsyth (Mearns Castle) (£1,475 each).
70 R Cameron (Saltire Energy), G Wright (West Linton) (£742.50 each).
71 G Hay (Grantown on Spey), G Hutcheon (PLGC Inchmarlo), G Fox (Clydeway Golf), G Brown (Montrose Links) (£448 each).
72 D Orr (Eastwood), S Henderson (Kings Links), P Girvan (Kings Links) (£285 each).
73 R Arnott (Bishopbriggs), P McKechnie (Braid Hills), S Gray (Lanark) (£222.67 each).
74 P O'Hara (North Lanarkshire Leisure) (£180).
75 J McCreadie (Largs), J McGhee (Swanston New) (£162.50 each).
76 G Forbes (Murcar Links), M Urquhart (Nairn), S Burgess (Nairn) (£86.67 each).
77 M Hillson (St Andrews for Golf), B Davidson (Friedkin Golf), C Currie (Caldwell), K Monaghan (Linlithgow).
78 C Kelly (Stirling), J Hopwood (Royal Aberdeen).
79 C Ronald (Carluke), M Patterson (Kilmacolm).
80 L Gaughan (Bathgate), C Elliott (Haggs Castle)
81 A Crerar (Panmure).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google