Sunday, October 18, 2015

Lanarkshire beaten 8-0 by Glasgow but 

Ayrshire are West of Scotland champions

for first time in 27 years!

Lanarkshire lost 8-0 to  a strong Glasgow team today at Ralston Golf Club in the final fixture of the 2015 West of Scotland inter-county league.
Despite this, Ayrshire are the West of Scotland team champions for the first time in 27 years  as a result of their 5-3 win at Bonnyton Golf Club against Renfrewshire to end the home side’s 12-year winning streak 
Match details (Ayrshire names first) :-
Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) halved with M. Clark
Keith Hamilton (Ayr Belleisle) bt C Watson 1 hole
Tommy McInally (Loudoun) bt A Farmer 3 and 2
Stuart Robin (Prestwick St Cuthbert) bt Paul Reilly 2 and 1
Malcolm Pennycott (Whiting Bay) lost to D Anderson by 6 and 5
Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) lost to C Pirie 2 and 1
Steven Wallace (Prestwick St Cuthbert) bt S Watt 3 and 2
John Shanks (Irvine) halved with D. Dickson

at Ralston GC
  Steven Rennie  (Drumpellier) lost to Barry Hume (Haggs Castle) 3 and 2. 
   Kenny Gallacher  (East Kilbride) lost to Jamie Savage (Cawder)   5 and 4
  Dominic Dougan (Airdrie) lost to  Gordon Sangster (Cathkin Braes) 3 and 2.  
 Mark O’Donnell (Hamilton) lost to Fraser Grant (Ralston)  2 and 1   
 Robbie Main (Airdrie)  lost to Blair Dalglish  (Ralston)  4 and 2
.   David Cardwell (Hamilton) lost to Craig Morrison (Haggs Castle)   2 and 1
   Ross Hinshelwood (East Kilbride) lost to  Stephen Machin  (Cowglen) 7 and 6. 
   Craig Longmuir (Bellshill)  lost to Darren Christie (Cathkin Braes) 3 and 2.  

Lanarkshire gained some consolation by winning the  West of Scotland Youth League by virtue of a 7-1 win over their Glasgow counterparts at Shotts Golf Club.
Willie Sharpe
Press Officer   
Lanarkshire Golf Association



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google