Friday, August 21, 2015

English boys’ county championship trophy awaits a fresh name 
There will be a new name on the trophy after next week’s English Boys' County Championship at King’s Lynn in Norfolk, where each of the finalists will seek their first win. 
The challengers are the four regional winners: Durham who represent the North, Northamptonshire from the Midlands, Wiltshire from the South West, together with Hampshire, the Isle of Wight and the Channel Islands, representing the South East. 
The championship is played from Tuesday to Thursday, 25-27 August, and is a round robin competition, with three foursomes each morning and six singles in the afternoon. On the first day Durham will play Wiltshire and Hampshire will take on Northamptonshire. 
Durham were runners-up at last year’s championship, which also included Wiltshire, while Hampshire reached the final as recently as 2013. However, this will be Northamptonshire’s first appearance. 
The teams are packed with talented players such as Durham’s Jack Ainscough and Northamptonshire’s Ben Jones, who will both represent England in the Italian U16 championship at the beginning of September. 
Hampshire’s Jordan Sundborg caused one of the upsets of the recent Boys’ Amateur Championship when he knocked out top seed Bradley Moore in the fourth round. Ainscough and Northamptonshire’s Matthew Myers and Callum Farr also reached the match play stages of the championship. 
Wiltshire’s James Cooper and Charlie Salter of Northamptonshire are among the boys who have been members of England Golf U16 squads. Meanwhile Hampshire’s Josh Oddy helped England to a clean sweep in last year’s U16 home international series. 
Picture Caption: The second green at King's Lynn, where the tree-lined fairways are a feature of the challenging course.
The teams are:
Jack Ainscough, Hartlepool
Rian Dixon, Castle Eden
Christopher Handy, South Moor
Thomas Harbord, Castle Eden
Aaron McManus, Darlington
Will Marshall, Heworth
Tom Skelton, Beamish Park
Hampshire, IoW and CI 
Jonathan Anderson, Royal Jersey  
Lawrence Cherry, Stoneham  
Josh Oddy, Westridge
Conor Richards, Shanklin and Sandown  
George Roberts, Meon Valley
Jason Stokes, La Moye
Joshua Sturt, Rowlands Castle
Jordan Sundborg, Shanklin and  Sandown    
Luke Barney, Overstone Park
Callum Farr, Priors Hall
Tom Forster, Oundle
Ben Jones, Brampton Heath
Matthew Myers, Northamptonshire County
Fergus Robinson, Northamptonshire County
Charlie Salter, Northamptonshire County   
Jamie Amor, Marlborough  
Jake Bolton, Ogbourne Downs  
Dominic Burgess, Salisbury and South Wilts  
James Cooper, Cumberwell Park  
Charlie Dunn, West Wilts  
Max Mulcock, Wrag Barn  
Tom Stagg, Salisburyand   South Wilts    

Click here for all the championship information

Lyndsey Hewison
Press Officer
England Golf
07825 752 193



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google