Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Top seed Grant Forrest beats Barrie Edmond to reach last 32

Fairstone Scottish Amateur Championship
Muirfield, East Lothian

Top seed Grant Forrest admits there would be no better place to win his second Fairstone Scottish Amateur Championship title than Muirfield, after he moved menacingly into the last-32.
The local lad, attached to the Craigielaw club, eased past Bon Accord’s Barrie Edmond, the Aberdeen Links champion, 3 and 2 to reach the fourth round, alongside a number of other in-form players.
Forrest won the crown at Royal Dornoch in 2012 and has built on that success in recent years, including reaching the final of The Amateur Championship last month and helping Scotland become European Team champions a matter of days ago.

Day 2: Round 1 results


R Walsh (Kirkcaldy) bt S Stewart (Clydebank Overtoun) 4 and 2
M Bacigalupo (Longniddry) bt M Clark (Kilmacolm) 3 and 2
G Forrester (Lundin) bt D Watson (Cruden Bay) 2 and 1
S Grant (Downfield) bt A Jamieson (Greenock) 3 and 2
G Duncan (Windyhill) bt G Bowman (Grange) 4 and 3
J Savage (Cawder) bt A Hain (St Andrews) 1 hole
K Hamilton (Ayr Belleisle) bt A Simpson (North Berwick) 6 and 5
R Campbell (Falkirk) bt Mark O'Donnell (Hamilton) 3 and 2
C Donaldson (Downfield) bt A Fowlie (Kytaja Golf) 3 and 2
J Rogers (Rockliffe Hall) bt J Berry (Torwoodlee) 4 and 3
B Hume (Haggs Castle) bt M Daily (Erskine) 5 and 4
E Shannly (Linlithgow) bt A McDougall (St Andrews New) 2 holes
C MacNeal (Prestwick) bt B Innes (Murcar Links) 5 and 4
K Cantley (Liberton) bt M Halliday (Royal Aberdeen) 1 hole
P Gault (Haggs Castle) bt M Robertson (Western Gailes) 5 and 4
F Davren (Williamwood) bt A Thomson (Lanark) 1 hole
F Moore (Glenbervie) bt G Miller (Cawder) 1 hole
A Anderson (Dunfermline) bt L Morgan (Dunbar) 4 and 3
C Neil (Mount Ellen) bt F Henderson (North Berwick) 6 and 5
J McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt C Rossi (Western Gailes) 6 and 5
C Riddle (Torwoodlee) bt B Caldow (Kilmarnock Barassie) 4 and 3
P Moultrie (Royal Troon) bt C Scott (Duddingston) at 22nd
L Reid (Longniddry) bt G Collins (Ballumbie Castle) at 21st
R Franssen (Inverness) bt J Wilson (Balmore) 5 and 4
D Young (Craigie Hill) bt C Simpson (Newmachar) 3 and 2
D Lawrence (Ballumbie Castle) bt A Anderson (Bruntsfield Links) at 19th
C Edgar (Cochrane Castle) bt C Hill (Muckhart) 3 and 1

C Heslip (Cherwell Edge) bt M Duncan (Brucefields) 7 and 5
C McGuigan (Comrie) bt J Morris (Peebles) at 19th
D Murray (Blairgowrie) bt W Porter (Carnoustie) 2 and 1
C Hill (Tantallon) bt C Lamb (Newmachar) 5 and 4
S Watt (Old Ranfurly) bt J Valentine (Musselburgh) 3 and 1
R Smith (Nairn) bt G Bell (Bathgate) 3 and 1
J Bryce (Bathgate bt F White (Auchterarder) 4 and 3
C Howie (Peebles) bt G Robertson (Irvine) 5 and 3
S Lockhart (Bathgate) bt B McLeod (Musselburgh) 2 holes
A Fairbairn (Cawder) bt A Johnston (Bonnyton) 3 and 2
C Low (Tantallon) bt A Culverwell (Dunbar) 3 and 2
A Mcdougall (Elderslie) bt R McKenzie (Erskine) 2 and 1
C Curran (Harburn) bt B Willan (Machrihanish) 5 and 3
C Johnstone (Royal Musselburgh) bt D Macandrew (Royal Aberdeen) 4 and 3
J J amieson (St Andrews New) bt A Davidson (Charleton) at 19th
C McNeill (Leven Golfing Society) bt S Michie (Kinross) 2 and 1
S Burgess (Nairn) bt D Miller (Fereneze) at 19th
C Maclean (Balmore) bt C Stewart (Murcar Links) 1 hole
A Campbell (Dumbarton) bt J Milne (Elgin) 4 and 3
C Martin (Balbirnie) bt K Gallacher (East Kilbride) 1 hole
S Aitken (Leven Golfing Society) bt A Holbrook (Murcar Links) 4 and 2
N Gold (Bonnyton) bt S Buchanan (Prestwick St Nicholas) at 20th
E Ferguson (Bearsden) bt S Graham (Arbroath) 4 and 3
J Bunch (Prestwick) bt S Roger (Cruden Bay) bt 2 and 1
B Fotheringham (Inverness) bt J McMahon (Prestwick St Nicholas) 7 and 5
S Robin (Prestwick St Cuthbert) bt C Wallace (Balbirnie Park) 3 and 2
C Pirie (Millport) bt J Harling (Banchory) 1 hole


G Burns (Williamwood) bt K MacAskill (Auchterarder) 3 and 1

D Elder (Carnoustie) bt A Moir (Thrnton) 3 and 1

G Forrest (Craigielaw) bt J Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) 4 and 3

B Edmond (Bon Accord) bt S Twynholm (Morpeth) 2 and 1

E Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt O Roberts (Hong Kong) 4 and 2

D Mitchell (Leven Thistle) bt A Blaney (Liberton) at 20th

A Dunton (McDonald) bt M Smyth (Royal Troon) 1 hole

J Shanks (Irvine) bt J Forbes (Muir of Ord) 4 and 2

C Cheyne (Newmachar) bt F Syme (Gullane) 2 and 1

R MacIntyre (Glencruitten) bt F Grant (Ralston) 4 and 3
R Lumsden (Royal Wimbledon) bt A Bews (Murcar Links) 5 and 3

D Miller (Duddingston) bt C Conroy (Paisley) at 20th

L Johnston (Dumfries and Co) bt A Watson (Stirling) 1 hole

C Baird (Bothwell Castle) bt N Macandrew (Royal Aberdeen) 1 hole

C Chalmers (Cawder) bt C Lawton (Stirling) at 19th

A Styles (Murcar Links) bt D Dickson (Bonnyton 3 and 2

C Syme (Drumoig) bt E Wood (Crow Wood) 2 holes

S-T Robertson (Hazlehead) bt C  Donaldson (St Andrews) 3 and 2

S McClory (Bathgate) bt S Brown (Turnberry) 3 and 2

G Munro (Fraserburgh) bt G Burrett (Haggs Castle) 3 and 2





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google