Wednesday, May 27, 2015

 Senior Northern Counties Cup 2014 finalists 

through to last 8 again in bad weather at Inverness

Duff House Royal 1 and Royal Aberdeen 1, last year's finalists, are through to the last eight of the Senior Northern Counties' mens double foursomes match-play tournament which opened in atrocious, wet and cold conditions at Inverness Golf Club today

The Banff men beat Muir of Ord by five holes.
It was commented more than once that it felt like a Winter Alliance rather than a late May tournament because of the
chilling conditions.
Nineteen teams braved the weather
Royal Aberdeen 1, runners-up last year, are also through to the last eight after squeezing past Aberdeen rivals Deeside by one hole.
Nairn 1 received a bye into the quarter-finals as Moray could not field a No. 2 team

Nairn Dunbar 2 bt Fortrose and Rosemarkie by 8 holes
(J Gibson, D Roy 2, W Donnelly, A Tait, 0; H Bunker, I Fraser 6, M McArthur, S Robertson 0)
Inverness 1 bt Royal Aberdeen 2 by 7 holes
(L Chancellor, S Barron 2, D Walker, J Davies 0; H Urquhart, J Elliott 5, R Haites, K Anderson 0)
Cruden Bay bt Inverness 2 by 9 holes
(A Gauld, M Forster 4, P Sinclair, W Boardman 0; J Cooper, W Livingston 5, G Fyfe, D MacKay 0)
Forres bt Torvean by 2 holes
( G MacKay, T Fleetham 0, G Grant, D Milligan 2; J Wheeler, N Parsons 4, A Finlay, T Wilson0)
Duff House Royal 2 bt Royal Dornoch 1 by 3 holes 
(J Sim, A Cruickshank 2, D Pearson, E Millard 0; A Alexander, G Kelly 1, P Lee, G Sutherland 0)
Duff House Royal 1 bt Muir of Ord by 5 holes 
(M Jenkins, I Angus 6, S Rose, G Stuart 0; A Kennedy, D Clark 0, C MacMillan, K McGruer 1)
Turriff 1 bt Nairn Dunbar by 2 holes
(A J Smith, K Minty 3, H Clunas, K Campbell 0; E Duguid, AP Smith 0, D Bunker, I Duncan 1)
Moray bt Nairn Dunbar by 8 holes
(M J Dean, J McLeod 4, J Gibson, D Roy 0, D Edwards, J McPherson 4, H Bunker, I Fraser 0)
Inverness 1 bt Cruden Bay by 6 holes
(L Chancellor, S Barron 5, A Gauld, M Forster 0; H Urquhart, J Elliott 1, J Cooper, W Livingston 0)
Elgin bt Forres by 2 holes
(J Porter, B C Milne 2, G MacKay, T Fleetham 0; C C MacDonald, B Inch 0, J Wheeler, N Parsons 0)
Duff House Royal 2 bt  Nairn 2 by 7 holes 
(J Sim, A Cruickshank 4, K Loades, J Taylor; A Alexander, G Kelly 3, I Cooper, A Adam)
Royal Aberdeen 1 bt Deeside by 1 hole
(Ian Donald, Jim Emslie 1, David Bisset, R Bickerton 0; John Johnston, W Methven 0, G Patterson, D Gray 0)

Nairn 1 w.o. Moray 2 scr



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google