Sunday, December 28, 2014


                           Carl Mason in action. Picture by courtesy of Getty Images(c)
Englishman Carl Mason, the most successful player in the history of the European Senior Tour, has added another accolade to his impressive list of accomplishments after winning the Lawrence Batley Award for a second consecutive year.
The award is given to the leading player on the Senior Tour Order of Merit over the age of 60, with 61 year old Mason holding off a strong challenge from compatriot David J Russell.

Mason finished 19th on the 2014 Senior Tour Order of Merit with earnings of €69,738, while Russell ended the year in 21st position with €66,684.

It was the 12th consecutive year that Mason has finished inside the top 20 on the Senior Tour Order of Merit, having won the John Jacobs Trophy as the leading player on three occasions, in 2003, 2004 and 2007.

Mason’s best performance of 2014 was a share of third position in the Senior Open de Portugal, while he also finished tied fourth in the Bad Ragaz PGA Seniors Open, an event he has won three times.

The winner of a record 25 Senior Tour titles first scooped the award in 2013 and he was presented with the trophy at the Senior Tour’s Annual Awards Dinner held at Woburn Abbey in August on the eve of the Travis Perkins Masters.

In his acceptance speech he remarked: “It’s 50 years ago that I first won my age group prize. Isn’t this a wonderful game that at 60 year old I can win another? I hope it is not the last.”

It proved not to be, with Russell unable to overtake him in the Order of Merit following the season-ending MCB Tour Championship in Mauritius, meaning Mason becomes just the second player to win the award more than once, following three-time winner Jerry Bruner of America.

Andy Stubbs, Managing Director of the European Senior Tour, said: “Carl has been a terrific ambassador for the European Senior Tour since he joined us in 2003, and at the age of 61 he continues to perform to a very high level.

“With players of the quality of David J Russell, Des Smyth, Sam Torrance, Mark James and Nick Job all eligible for the Lawrence Batley Award in 2014, it is yet another superb achievement in Carl’s Senior Tour career.”

First awarded to David Creamer in 2003, when it was known as the Hardy’s Super Senior Award, the accolade has also been given to Malcolm Gregson (2004), Noel Ratcliffe (2005), Jim Rhodes (2006), John Bland (2007), Jerry Bruner (2008, 2009, 2010), Nick Job (2011) and Dick Mast (2012).

The John Jacobs Trophy, given to the leading player on the 2014 Order of Merit, was won by Colin Montgomerie and the Rookie of the Year went to Argentine Cesar Monasterio, the winner of the English Senior Open, who finished the season in fifth position on the money list.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google