Monday, September 01, 2014


Scratch winners ROBERT GORDON'S COLLEGE. Left to right: Michael Lawrie, Curtis Stephen (with trophy) and Dylan Smith. Peterculter picture by Cal Carson Golf Agency


Robert Gordon's College won the scratch trophy and Hazlehead Academy claimed the handicap trophy in today's Paul Lawrie Foundation Schools Team Challenge tournament at Peterculter Golf Club.
Michael Lawrie (71), Dylan Smith (74)  and Curtis Stephen (81) compiled an aggregate of 226 to win by six strokes from Cults Academy (232) with Aboyne Academy (248) in third place in a field of 19 school teams.
It was a third win in the tournament by Gordon's College. They also won in 2009 and 2011.
Cults Academy were the defending champions. In fact they were bidding to complete a hat-trick, having won the scratch title in 2012 and 2013.
Hazlehead Academy's  Craig Leith (3) 69, Jasmine Mackintosh (5) 69 and Connor Brown (12) 73 had a net team total of 211 to score a nine-stroke victory in the handicap section. Ellon Academy (220) were second and Albyn (222) were third.
Hazlehead Academy also won the handicap title last year. 
The lowest score of the day was a one-under-par 70, returned by Cameron Fraser (Meldrum Academy) and also by Adam Fisher (Cults Academy). 
Fraser had halves of 38-32; Fisher 35-35 so Fraser was the winner with the better inward half. 
Fraser birdied the 10th, 11th, 14th and 15th. He had bogeys at the first, sixth and 13th.

Handicap winners: HAZLEHEAD ACADEMY. Left to right: Connor Brown, Craig Leith and Jasmine Mackintosh. Picture by Cal Carson Golf Agency 

CSS 71 for boys and girls
+The competition rules debar a team from winning prizes in both the scratch AND handicap.
1st - 226 Robert Gordon's College (M Lawrie 71, D Smith 74, C Stephen 81)
(231 Hazlehead Acad)
2nd - 232 Cults Acad (A Fisher 70, B Henderson 71, D Craig 91)
(242 Ellon Acad)
3rd - 248 Aboyne Acad (K Harker 80, Shannon McWilliam 83, C Dufftown 85).
249 Peterhead Acad
251 Banff Acad
253 Aberdeen Grammar School
255 Albyn School, Banchory Acad, Meldrum Acad
256 Alford Acad
262 The Gordon Schools (Huntly)
263 Inverurie Acad
268 Speyside High
270 Turriff Acad
272 Torry Acad
280 Oldmachar Acad
297 Westhill Acad

1st - 211 Hazlehead Acad: C Leith (3) 69, J Mackintosh (5) 69, C Brown (12) 73.
(216 Robert Gordon's College)
2nd - 220 Ellon Acad: A Imray (9) 72, G Pirie (5) 74, K Moran (8) 74.
3rd - 222 Albyn School: A Kinghorn (10) 70, F McKenna (5) 71, H Webster (18) 81.
225 Cults Acad, The Gordon Schools (Huntly)
226 Speyside High
229 Alford Acad
231 Banchory Acad
232 Aberdeen Grammar School, Peterhead Acad
233 Torry Acad
234 Oldmachar Acadk
235 Meldrum Acad
237 Aboyne Acad, Inverurie Acad, Turriff Acad
244 Banff Acad, Westhill Acad

BOYS par 71 CSS 71
70 C Fraser (Meldrum Acad) 38-32, A Fisher (Cults Acad) 35-35. Fraser won with better inward half.
71 M Lawrie (Gordon's College), B Henderson (Cults Acade)
72 C Leith (Hazlehead Acad)
74 D Smith (Gordon's College)
76 F McKenna (Albyn School), G Elrick (Alford Acad). 

GIRLS par 72 CSS 71
74 Jasmine Mackintosh (Hazlehead Acad)
83 Shannon McWilliam (Aboyne Acad) 



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google