Sunday, May 01, 2011


Fairhaven Golf Club Secretary
Isle of Man golfer Tom Harris (Castletown) won an exciting four-hole play-off against Curtis Griffiths (Wentworth) after they had tied on 300 at the end of four rounds in the Fairhaven Trophies boys and girls' tournament at Fairhaven Golf Club, Lancashire.
The stroke-play play-off, over holes 1, 2, 17 and 18, saw Tom take a two-stroke lead after a great birdie on the difficult 17th hole. However Curtis nearly levelled the scores with a great approach pitch at the par-5 18th, which saw his ball lip out for an eagle 3.
Tom holed a brave 3ft return putt to secure victory by the narrowest of margins.
Max Orrin (North Foreland) finished in 3rd place with a score of 302, closely followed by Oliver Carr (Heswall) and Harry Casey (Enfield) on a total of 306. Sixth place went to Thomas Rowland (Prudhoe) with a score of 308.
The honour of finishing the top Scot was gained by Clackmannan's Lawrence Allan (Alva), a shot ahead of Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) and two in front of Grant Forrest (Craigielaw), both winners of Scottish titles over the past year or two.
Lawrence came joint 12th, despite a final round of 83 after earlier scores of 78, 77 and 74.
The girls' championship was won in dramatic finish by Amber Ratcliffe (Royal Cromer) with a score of 315, after she holed an 8yd eagle putt on the last hole to beat Elizabeth Stebbings (Wilpshire) by one shot.
On a weekend of gale-force winds on the Lancashire coast, the CSS for the third round was 77 and 78 (reduction only) for the fourth round.

Par 288 (4x72). CSS was never lower than 76 and ranged as high as 78
300 Tom Harris (Castletown Links) 72 76 82 70, Curtis Griffiths (Wentworth) 69 75 77 79 (Harris won four-hole stroke-play play-off).
302 Max Orrin (North Foreland) 74 74 76 78.
306 Oliver Carr (Heswell) 73 78 79 76, Harry Casey (Enfield) 73 82 73 78.
308 Thomas Rowland (Prudhoe) 76 80 77 75.
Selected totals
312 Lawrence Allan (Alva) 78 77 74 83 (T12).
313 Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) 73 75 83 82 (T14).
314 Grant Forrest (Craigielaw) 77 79 75 83 (T17).
315 Amber Ratcliffe (Royal Cromer) 75 80 80 80 (T21: Winner of Girls' Section)
316 Elizabeth Stebbings (Wilpshire) 78 78 69 81 (T23).
319 Josh Jamieson (St Andrews) 74 83 75 87 (T28).
329 Greg Marchbank (Dumfries and Galloway) 74 84 84 87 (39th).

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google