Monday, May 02, 2011


The Ayrshire match-play championship began over the Troon Portland course this evening. Three times former title-winner Alex Gourlay (Irvine) claimed a place in the quarter-finals with a 2 and 1 win over Jamie Mackay (Kilmarnock Barassie), the new Ayrshire stroke-play champion.
In the round of the last eight Gourlay will face 2007 title winner Stephen Murray (Troon Welbeck) who defeated Euan Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) by 3 and 2.
Defending champion Euan Brown (Kilmarnock Barassie) beat Tommy McInally (Loudoun), a former county stroke-play winner, by 5 and 4.
In the quarter finals Brown will play 2001 stroke-play champion Gary Bryden (Girvan) after the Turnberry greenkeeper beat 2009 semi finalist Stephen Spence (Irvine) at the 19th.
Michael Smyth (Royal Troon) used local knowledge to good effect with a comfortable 6 and 5 win over Colin Gray (Irvine) and now faces a tie against Ayrshire Order Of Merit winner Keith Hamilton (Ayr Belleisle).
Hamilton beat Malcolm Pennycott (Whiting Bay) 3 and 1.
Marc Smith (Troon Welbeck) was a late replacement in the championship as first reserve, and he took full advantage of his opportunity, beating John Haggarty (Loudoun) by 4 and 2.
In the quarter-finals Smith will play clubmate and new Scottish boys champion David Wilson (Troon Welbeck), who had to go to the 19th to take the measure of David McLellan (Largs).
The quarter final matches take place on Tuesday evening, again at Troon Portland, with the semi finals on Wednesday and the final match on Thursday.

17.00 - ALEX GOURLAY (Irvine) v STEPHEN MURRAY (Troon Welbeck)
17.10 - EUAN BROWN (Kilmarnock Barassie) v GARY BRYDEN (Girvan)
17.20 - MICHAEL SMYTH (Royal Troon) v KEITH HAMILTON (Ayr Belleisle)
17.30 - MARC SMITH (Troon Welbeck) v DAVID WILSON (Troon Welbeck).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google