Saturday, July 03, 2010



Baberton’s Paul Ferrier, 2007 Scottish boys’ match-play champion, led the field at the end of the first round of this weekend’s Scottish Golf Union 72-hole Order of Merit event, the Cameron Corbett Vase at Haggs Castle Golf Club, Glasgow.
Ferrier, pictured, who has recently completed his second year at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte, posted a four-under-par 68 which was five under the CSS.
Ferrier, from Currie, held a one-shot lead from another past Scottish boys’ champion, now a Stirling University student, James White (Lundin), Alexander Culverwell (Dunbar), Mark Bookless (Sandyhills) and Jamie MacKay (Kilmarnock Barassie).
Culverwell made his 69 with a back nine of 32, the best inward half of the first round.
Connor O’Neil, who had a 71, holed his second shot for an albatross 2 at the 18th.
Defending champion Allyn Dick was five shots off the pace with a 73.
Peter Latimer (St Andrews New), winner of last weekend’s East of Scotland Open, made a slow start with a 75.
The Cameron Corbett Vase has always been played at Haggs Castle since the inaugural tournament in 1897.

Par 72. CSS 73
68 Paul Ferrier (Baberton).
69 Alexander Culverwell (Dunbar), James White (Lundin), Mark Bookless (Sandyhills), Jamie MacKay (Kilmarnock Barassie).
70 Scott Crichton (Aberdour).
71 Connor O’Neil (Pollok), Hao Sheng Hsu (Haddington), Scott Larkin (Royal Aberdeen), Brian Soutar (Leven GS).
72 Daniel Young (Craigie Hill), Michael Daily (Erskine), Chris Harkins (Ayr Belleisle), Greg Nicolson (Mortonhall), Gordon Stevenson (Whitecraigs), Ed Wood (Crow Wood), Michael Main (Thornton).
73 Sean McGarvey (Glencourse), Allyn Dick (Kingsknowe), Paul Shields (Kirkhill),.
74 James Hendrick (Pollok), Andrew Campbell (Dumbarton), Fraser Fotheringham (Nairn), Keith Hamilton (Ayr Belleisle), Craig Hamilton (Omanu), Steve Rennie (Drumpellier), Grant Carnie (Newburgh), John Mathers (Haggs Castle), Chris Kneen (Rowany), Jordan Findlay (Fraserburgh).
75 Steven McEwan (Caprington), Michael Campbell (Renfrew), Michael Smyth (Royal Troon), Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie), Andrew Weir (Montrose Mercantile), Paul Gault (Westerwood), Peter Latimer (St Andrews New), Ross Bell (Downfield), Sam Birnning (Ranfurly Castle).
76 Steven Maxwell (Windyhill), Chris Robb (Inchmarlo), Richard Docherty (Bearsden), Nicky Gold (Bonnyton), Alex Main (Thornton), Jonathan Corke (Rowany), Fraser McKenna (Balmore), Matt Dowling (Green Acres), Andrew McLachlan (Bonnyton), Fraser Moore (Glenbervie), John Duff (Newmachar), Craig Watson (East Renfrewshire), Gordon Yates (Hilton Park), Matthew Clark (Kilmacolm).
77 Thomas Sharkey (Helensburgh), Graeme Gimson (Prestwick St Cuthbert), Kristofer Harper (Carnoustie), Scott Moffat (Alloa), Jordan Grant (Renfrew), Paul Alexander (Caldwell), James Ross (Royal Burgess).
78 Paul Betty (Hayston), Alan Welsh (Torrance House), Colin Thomson (East Renfrewshire), Daniel Kay (Dunbar), Ian Redford (St Andrews New), Robert Carson (Dalmahoy), Adam Dunton (McDonald Ellon), Andrew Wallace (Glenbervie).
79 Joshua Seale (South Africa), Jamie Savage (Cawder), Bobby Rushford (Grangemouth).
81 Mark Collin (Eyemouth), Michael Buchan (Cruden Bay), Myles Cunningham (Craigielaw).
82 Scott Carmichael (Baberton), Fraser Campbell (Milngavie).
83 Allan McKie (Glencruiten).
85 Ross Crowe (Westerhope).
91 Damian Nortje (South Africa).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google