Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Great Scott! Nairn's Calum shares lead on 67

in Scottish U16 boys

Nairn's Calum Scott, one of the later starters in a huge field of 144 competitors, joined long-time leaders Jean Bekirian (France) and England's Benjamin Pierleoni in a tie for the pole position on the four-under 67 mark at the Kittocks course, Fairmont, St Andrews this evening in the first round of the Global Post Scottish U16 boys' open amateur stroke-play championship.
Scott, younger brother of Sandy, had six birdies - at the second, fifth sixth, ninth, 11th and 15th in halves of 33 and 34. His two bogeys came at the fourth and 16th.
Bekirian had a bulging bag of eight birdies, including four in a row from the third in halves of 34 and 33. A bogey at the 18th prevented him from leading on his own overnight.
Pierleoni had a bogey-free round with four birdies in halves of 34-33.
Calum Robinson (Turnhouse) was the second best Scot on the opening day with a 68 in which he birdied the fifth, sixth and ninth in an outward 33. Set to join the leaders, he bogeyed the 16th to come in one off the pace.

Fairmont St Andrews Kittocks Course.
Par 71

67 J Bekirian (Fra), B Pierleoni (Eng), C D Scott (Nairn).
68 C  Robinson (Turnhouse)
69 A Milazzo (Fra), S Downes (Royal Dublin), W Skipp (Eaglescliffe), J T Nielsen (Den).
70 L Currid (Bathgate), A Bauduin (Fra), L Salisbury (Fra), J Ashfield (Chester).
71 C Sharpe (Blairgowrie), A Valenzuela (Switz), C Tibbs (Chart Hills), J Wilding (Heysham), G Schirinzi (Ita), J Greer (Australia).
72 C Barbour (St Andrews New), A Hale (Kilspindie), I G Turner Woodsome Hall), D Walsh (Lochgelly), E Dimayuga (Cuddington), H Lord (Rossendale), G Teodoro (Portugal), M Schmitt (Den), A Mueller-Baumgart (Spn), M Hopkins (Bishops Stortford), L Bruzzane (Ita).
73 J Prutthaweewat (Switz), C Gallagher (Longiddry), B Brown (Hallamshire), T Lamb (Singapore), M Cristoni (Ita), D De Prosperis (Ita), A Rabassa (Fra), R McDonald-O'Brien (Lilleshall), E Anderberg (Nevill), C Black (Royal Aberdeen), J Sullivan (Charthjam Park), N Agugiaro (Ita), P Schmuecking (Ger), C O'Toole (Craigmillar Park), A Biele (Fra), W Dahlstrom (Swe), L Waldron (Royal Aberdeen).
74 S Hall (Craigmillar Park), A Saleem (St Andrews New), A Thornton (Muckhart), J Lockhart (Pitreavie), H Evans (Royal Ashdown Forest), B Haq (Royal Wimbledon), J Byrne (Ire), V Rossi (Ita), T Burou (Fra), E Wheat (Royal Montrose), J Hill (Jumeirah), E Orr (Kemnay)
75 G McCaffer (Whitecraigs), H Austin (Dumfries and Co), R McAuley (Fereneze), R Thain (Kings Acre), L Reynolds (Hilton Park), L Strath (Murcar Links).
76 J McDonald (Torwoodlee), J Roberts (Muckhart), J Bruce (Deeside), C Adam (Royal Burgess), J Cookson (Gullane), B Patience (Fortrose and Rosemarkie).
77 S Sandin (Dunblane New), R Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle), T Erskine (Kilmacolm), F Owenson (Nairn).
78 D Farmer (Cathkin Braes), G Graham (Blairgowrie).
79 J Vogelpohl (Forrester Park), J Noon (Musselburgh).
80 R Mair (Buckpool), L Clark (Alloa).
82 A Murray (Troon Welbeck)
89 R Adams (Fortrose and Rosemarkie)
90 S Addie (Ayr Belleisle) .

to view all the scores




Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google