Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Stojanovski first Aussie to win on MENA Tour

RAS AL KHAIMAH, United Arab Emirates — His short game nicely honed, Peter Stojanovski strung together a solid 66 to win the MENA Tour’s Ras Al Khaimah Classic by three shots as overnight leader Daniel Owen endured a dreadful final round today.
Five shots off the pace at the start, Stojanovski lit up the back nine with six birdies against a lone bogey after making the turn at one under to finish at 13-under as the English duo of Andrew Marshall and Jamie Elson shared second on an eventful day at Tower Links Golf Club in the United Arab Emirates.
Seeking his first win on the MENA Tour, Owen carded a head-scratching 10-over-par 82 that left him in a tie for 23rd on two-under, bringing back memories of a similarly spectacular collapse by his fellow Englishman Jake Shepherd, who also blew a five-shot lead, incidentally in the same tournament in 2011. 
The day belonged to Stojanovski, a 22-year-old prodigy who left some better-known names trailing in his wake with a consistent performance all week, becoming the first Australian to win a MENA Tour event.
“I am really delighted to win for the first time on the MENA Tour. I played some solid golf and really pleased to get the job done,” said the Sydney native after receiving the winner’s trophy from Simon Payne, general manager of Tower Links Golf Club. 
“I started off okay, but finished strongly. My short game was quite good and I holed some nice putts when I needed to. Overall, just kind of everything fell together,” said Stojanovski, who turned professional at the 2014 Dubai Creek Open.
“I just played my own game and didn’t think about what others were doing around me. I focused on every golf shot that I hit and that helped,” said the Australian, whose previous best finish on the MENA Tour being a top-six at the 2014 Ras Al Khaimah Classic. 
Owen’s stunning meltdown notwithstanding, idyllic conditions at Tower Links Golf Club brought a raft of red-figure rounds with Golf’s Mr Nice Guy, Marshall, leading the way with a sparkling 65 that moved him up from overnight tied 17th to second overall.
England’s Josh Walsh and Germany’s Georg Schultes matched Marshall’s best score of the tournament to climb up the leaderboard as Welsh ace Stephen Dodd, who started the day in a tie for second, settled for tied 13th on five under after a final round 74.
England’s Todd Clements comfortably kept up his dominance in the amateur division, carding a tidy 68 to finish on seven-under to beat his nearest challenger Tiago Lobo of Brazil by five shots as Sam Hobday, who also returned a final round 68, settled for third a further shot back.
Next up on the MENA Tour is a three-event Thailand swing that gets under way with the MahaSamutr Masters, sponsored by MahaSamutr Country Club, Hua Hin, at Banyan Golf Club on May 2.
1Peter Stojanovski -13686966203 7,200.00
2Jamie Elson -10716669206 4,800.00
2Andrew Marshall -10717065206 3,200.00
4Max Williams -9667170207 1,932.00
4Stuart Archibald -9687069207 1,932.00
4Josh Walsh -9727065207 1,932.00
7Fredrik Lindblom -8726670208 1,032.00
7Georg Schultes -8766765208 1,032.00
7Henric Sturehed -8697168208 1,032.00
10Todd Clements [Am] -7726968209 -
10Paul Dwyer -7667271209 800.00
12Jordan Garnish -6686973210 736.00
13Lindsay Renolds -5706972211 619.00
13Stephen Dodd -5706774211 619.00
13Lee Corfield -5687172211 619.00
13MG Keyser -5707566211 619.00
13Leo Lilja -5697270211 619.00
18Jake Shepherd -4766967212 517.00
18Tyler Hogarty -4687470212 517.00
18Liam Crawford -4727070212 517.00
21David Anderson -3756969213 472.00
21Jesper Alm -3677571213 472.00
23Daniel Owen -2666682214 416.00
23Craig Hinton -2697174214 416.00
23Wayne Stroebel -2707371214 416.00
23Joe Heraty -2717469214 416.00
23Tiago Lobo [Am] -2737368214 -
23James Ashman -2716974214 416.00
23Eddy Holland -2697570214 416.00
23Tim Gornik -2717172214 416.00
31Elliott Oxlade -1697571215 356.00
31Sam Hobday [Am] -1786968215 -
31Jack Doherty -1716975215 356.00
31Ben Amor -1737171215 356.00
35Mariano Ochoa L737073216 315.00
35Robbie Busher L717471216 315.00
35Henry Featherstone L687573216 315.00
35Francisco Perez L667377216 315.00
39Clarke Lutton 1717274217 280.00
39Michael Harradine [Am] 1717472217 -
39Cyril Suk 1737371217 280.00
39Andi Dill 1747271217 280.00
39Christofer Rahm [Am] 1747271217 -
39Matt Carroll 1697672217 280.00
45Benjamin David 2687773218 248.00
45Adam Sagar 2717275218 248.00
45Davide Albertini 2747272218 248.00
45Toby Hunt 2697574218 248.00
49Simon Payne 3727077219 220.00
49Max Smith 3707277219 220.00
49Ryan Hunter [Am] 3767073219 -
49Salvador Paya Vila 3727374219 220.00
53Jean-Luc Burnier 4727474220 200.00
53Matt Killen 4737176220 200.00
55Edward Barry-Walsh 5727475221 190.00
56Taylor Carter [Am] 7727675223 -
57Saleh Al Kaabi [Am] 8727775224 -
58Robert Horridge [Am] 9727776225 -
59Abdul Rahman Mohammed Al Mansour [Am] 14817079230 -



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google