Saturday, March 18, 2017

Jeff Wright beats Bruce Thomson in North

Scottish Alliance title play-off

 Robin Wilson's picture of the leading prizewinners at today's North Scottish Alliance championship at Inverness. Left to right - Bruce Thomson (Inverness), scratch runner-up;  Kevin Thomson (Moray), North Scottish Alliance captain making the presentation, trophy winner Jeff Wright (Forres), Bryan Fotheringham (Forres), who was the Scratch Aggregate winner, Ali Mackintosh (Inverness),  Handicap Aggregate winner)

Jeff Wright (Forres) beat Bruce Thomson (Inverness) at the third hole of a play-off to win the North Scottish Alliance championship for the first time and with it the Sir Hugh Mackenzie Trophy at Inverness Golf Club today (Saturday). They both scored one-under-par 68s (Wright 33-35, Thomson 34-34).
Wright had two birdies and one bogey in halves of 33-35. Thomson birdied the first and third, bogeyed the fourth and then parred the remaining 14 holes in halves of 34,
Jonathon Keith, the Inverness club champion, also scored a 68 (32-36)  but decided to go to Caley Thistle v Ross County football match rather than stay to make it a three-way title play-off. Keith was on schedule to win after birdieing the first, fourth, sixth and 12th but a hat-trick of bogeys through the 13th, 14th and 15th, undid most of the good work.
It might even have been a four-way play-off had defending champion Bryan Fotheringham (Forres) not missed an 8ft putt on the heavily sanded last green (they were all heavily sanded!).
There was some consolation for scratch player Bruce Thomson in that his 68 won him the Class 1 handicap section and with it the Bank of Scotland Quaich.
Fotheringham won the scratch aggregate trophy (best six rounds during season) and Ali Mackintosh (Inverness) won the handicap aggregate trophy.
Marc Windsor (Nairn), won the Jim Thom Quaich for the best net score - a 69 off 12 - in Class 2.

The Senior scratch title  (J A B Little Trophy) was won by Gordon H Hay (Boat of Garten) with a score of 71.

Colin Small, who plays off 11 at Nairn, won the J M C Gourlay Salver as the senior handicap champion.

+The championship play-off was stroke-play aggregate over two extra holes. Wright and Thomson were level after that. The play-off then went into sudden-death and Wright won it at the next hole with a par figure.

Inverness Golf Club.
par 69
68 J Wright (Forres), J Keith (Inverness), B J Thomson (Inverness) (Wright beat Thomson at third play-off hole).
69 A Cameron (Fortrose and Rosemarkie), B Fotheringham (Forres).
71 G H Hay (Boat of Garten).
74 A W Mair (Moray), D Hector (Elgin), J Carpenter (Forres), G Allan (Nairn Dunbar).
75 M McAllan (Elgin) p, J A Grant (Grantown on Spey), D Joel (Inverness), A Philip (Inverness), D Pitchforth (Nairn Dunbar), D McGrouther (Inverness), K Thomson (Moray).
76 R Harrower (Boat of Garten) p, A Henry (Inverness).
77 R Stewart (Nairn Dunbar), R Black (Inverness) p, R McKerron (Forres), J Shaw (Boat of Garten), A Macintosh (Inverness).
78 B Main (Hopeman), S Wilson (Inverness), S Mullen (Elgin), D Gordon (Inverness), R H Stewart (Torvean).
79 N McWilliam (Elgin), A Casey (Moray), I Murray (Boat of Garten), D Grindell (Inverness) p.
80 J Glass (Torvean), A Hutchison (Inverness).
81 S Mitchell (Moray), J S D Campbell (Grantown on Spey), D Johnston (Moray), M Windsor (Nairn), W Hutchison (Inverness).  


Class 1
68 B J Thomson (Inverness) (scr).  
69 G Allan (Nairn Dunbar) (5), D McGrouther (Inverness) (6).
70 A Philip (Inverness) (5).
71 A Henry (Inverness) (5), A W Mair (Moray) (3).

Class 2
69 M Windsor (Nairn) (12) .
71 C Small (Nairn)(11), S Laing (Grantown on Spey) (14).
72 A McWilliam (Moray) (16), W B Johnston (Moray) (10), S Taylor (Boat of Garten) (13).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google