Sunday, November 20, 2016

20-year-old Woburn player wins $500,000 prize

Charley Hull finishes 66-66 for first LPGA 

Tour win by two strokes and record total

NAPLES, Florida – Charley Hull is now a winner on the LPGA Tour.
The 20-year-old 2015 rookie from Woburn, England captured her first title on Tour at the CME Group Tour Championship by holding off playing partner So Yeon Ryu (South Korea) to win by two strokes. 
Hull, pictured with the tournament trophy, courtesy of Getty Images(c),  carded a final round bogey-free 66 to finish the week at 19-under par 269 and set a new Tournament scoring record, previously held by Cristie Kerr at 17-under par in 2015.
Hull held a narrow 54-hole lead, one-stroke ahead of playing partners Brittany Lincicome and Ryu. She appeared nervous at the start, hitting her tee shot  to the right at the first hole followed by a wayward approach at the second. 
But as Hull began to steady herself she pulled ahead by as many as two-strokes. But Ryu kept pace, matching Hull at the par three, 16th hole to head into the final stretch tied at 18-under par. 
At the par 5, 17th hole Ryu’s approach rolled into the greenside bunker and up near the lip while Hull rolled hers up for an easy birdie. 
The two-shot swing left Ryu two-shots back heading to the final hole where she closed out her round of 67 to finish second at 17-under par for her 11th top-10 finish of 2016.
“Sometime you just -- well, good thing is when you decided to do something then when you are completely having a faith about it, then when you did it you cannot really complain about result,” Ryu said about her approach to the 17th hole. “Yeah, maybe 17 was only one my decision wasn't really great. Maybe better to hit 3-wood or draw or something like that. But just sometimes I feel like just God make that happen. You know, God make that happen for make me a better player, make me a better person. So I just really don't want to blame myself. I just take this one as just serendipity, you know.”
Jodi Ewart from Yorkshire finished with a 76 for 285 and T36 position.
Catriona Matthew from North Berwick had a 72 and was T46 with 288.
The final title of the season was just one of many up for grabs at the season’s final event, where the Race to the CME Globe, Rolex Player of the Year, Vare Trophy and money title weren’t determined until Sunday’s final round.
Looking poised to sweep the season ending awards following her second round 62, Lydia Ko walked away empty handed for the first time at the season’s final event where she won the $1 million dollar prize in its first two years. Instead, world No.2 Ariya Jutanugarn will take home the prize as well as Rolex Player of the Year honours and the money title.
In Gee Chun locked up the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year award before the season’s end with her major championship victory at the Evian Championship. She also added the Vare Trophy to her growing list of accomplishments, making a birdie at the 72nd hole to edge out Ko for the lowest scoring average of the season. She is the first player since Nancy Lopez in 1978 to win both awards in the same season.
par 288 (4x72)
1Charley Hull67706666-6F-19269
2So Yeon Ryu67686967-5F-17271
3Jennifer Song72676668-4F-15273
T4Mo Martin68706868-4F-14274
T4Beatriz Recari68687068-4F-14274
T4Ariya Jutanugarn72686569-3F-14274
7In Gee Chun68696870-2F-13275
T8Shanshan Feng66736968-4F-12276
T8Amy Yang68726670-2F-12276
T10Lydia Ko70627372EF-11277
T10Brittany Lincicome69696673+1F-11277
12Lizette Salas68706773+1F-10278
T13Karine Icher72726669-3F-9279
T13Suzann Pettersen71677170-2F-9279
T13Haru Nomura69697071-1F-9279
T16Chella Choi72726967-5F-8280
T16Mi Hyang Lee70726969-3F-8280
T16Hyo Joo Kim72706969-3F-8280
T16Minjee Lee74686771-1F-8280
T16Mariajo Uribe71667172EF-8280
T16Brittany Lang74696572EF-8280
T22Ryann O'Toole68677571-1F-7281
T22Cristie Kerr71677172EF-7281
T24Carlota Ciganda75726669-3F-6282
T24Jacqui Concolino71736870-2F-6282
T24Brooke Henderson72726969-3F-6282
T24Danielle Kang71716971-1F-6282
T24Megan Khang74686773+1F-6282
T24Sei Young Kim68687274+2F-6282
30Kim Kaufman72706972EF-5283
T31Alison Lee73706972EF-4284
T31Hee Young Park72716972EF-4284
T31Morgan Pressel75697070-2F-4284
T31Anna Nordqvist72706874+2F-4284
T31Jessica Korda71667176+4F-4284
T36Karrie Webb75697071-1F-3285
T36Austin Ernst71737269-3F-3285
T36Jodi Ewart Shadoff73676976+4F-3285
T36Alena Sharp69767268-4F-3285
T40Lexi Thompson71737171-1F-2286
T40Sandra Gal72737269-3F-2286
T42Gerina Piller73736774+2F-1287
T42Stacy Lewis71707076+4F-1287
T42Pernilla Lindberg72697472EF-1287
T42Xi Yu Lin74727071-1F-1287
T46Catriona Matthew71717472EFE288
T46Sarah Jane Smith77697171-1FE288
T46Paula Creamer71717571-1FE288
T46Sakura Yokomine72697671-1FE288
T46Azahara Munoz76707468-4FE288
T51Kris Tamulis77696974+2F+1289
T51Moriya Jutanugarn71687674+2F+1289
T51Gaby Lopez78697270-2F+1289
T51Mirim Lee73727470-2F+1289
T55Ha Na Jang68797073+1F+2290
T55Candie Kung72757172EF+2290
57Angela Stanford75707472EF+3291
58Marina Alex72727474+2F+4292
T59Eun-Hee Ji70747772EF+5293
T59Mika Miyazato71747771-1F+5293
T59Su-Hyun Oh76717571-1F+5293
62Paula Reto69777276+4F+6294
63Christina Kim72717676+4F+7295
64Ai Miyazato76747473+1F+9297
T65Caroline Masson72777475+3F+10298
T65Pornanong Phatlum75767374+2F+10298



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google