Sunday, October 29, 2017

Justin Rose snatches victory at WGC-HSBC Champions


Justin Rose, with rounds of 67, 68, 72 and 67 for a 14-under-par total of 274, capitalised on a final-round collapse from Dustin Johnson to snatch a remarkable victory at the WGC-HSBC Champions.
The Olympic champion overturned an eight-stroke deficit to claim a two-stroke win at Sheshan International Golf Club, posting a five-under 67 to claim a first victory of 2017.
Johnson took a six-shot lead into the final round, but missed out on the chance of becoming the first player to win three World Golf Championship title in a calendar year after stumbling to a bogey-filled 77.
The world No 1 finished in a share of second spot on 12 under alongside Henrik Stenson and Brooks Koepka, who birdied the last to close a one-under 71.
Overnight leader Johnson bogeyed the first and lost his ball on his way to a dropped shot at the next, only to be handed back his advantage when Koepka posted back-to-back blemishes from the third.

Rose birdied the second and third and cancelled out a dropped shot at the sixth with a gain at the next, only to card consecutive bogeys from the eighth to find himself six back at the turn.
Stenson made successive gains from the sixth to get within three of the lead, while Koepka put pressure on Johnson by birdieing the first two holes of his back nine.
Johnson gave the chasing pack another lifeline when he dropped a shot at the 12th, allowing Koepka to close the gap to one with a birdie at the par-five next.
Three birdies in a four-hole stretch from the 11th lifted Rose to two off the pace alongside Stenson, who cancelled out a blemish on the same hole with a birdie-two at the 12th.
As Johnson dropped another shot at the 15th, where Koepka racked up a double-bogey, Rose grabbed further birdies at the 16th and the 17th to grab a one-shot advantage.

Rose posted five birdies in a seven-hole stretch from the 11th
Rose posted five birdies in a seven-hole stretch from the 11th
Rose posted a two-putt at the last to set the clubhouse target at 14th, leaving Stenson and Johnson - who also bogeyed the 16th - needing a final-hole eagle to force the play-off.
Stenson went left off the tee and was forced to lay up on the par-five, as Johnson found water with his approach to guarantee Rose his first victory since last year's Rio Olympics.
Rafa Cabrera Bello shared fifth spot with American duo Kyle Stanley and Peter Uihlein, while Race to Dubai leader Tommy Fleetwood finished in a tie for 20th after closing with a two-over 74.


1ENGJustin Rose-141867687267274
T2USABrooks Koepka-121864687371276
T2USADustin Johnson-121868636877276
T2SWEHenrik Stenson-121868696970276
T5USAKyle Stanley-81871686972280
T5USAPeter Uihlein-81872676972280
T5ESPRafael Cabrera Bello-81868707072280
8USABrian Harman-71868697074281
T9AUTBernd Wiesberger-61871707071282
T9ENGMatthew Fitzpatrick-61868697273282
T11AUSJason Day-51869747268283
T11ENGPaul Casey-51871726971283
T11USATony Finau-51867727470283
T11ENGTyrrell Hatton-51868707174283
T15RSABranden Grace-41874697269284
T15USACharles Howell III-41872677174284
T15JPNDaisuke Kataoka-41871726972284
T15USAPatrick Cantlay-41868746973284
T15USAPhil Mickelson-41871727467284
T20CHIAshun Wu-31867727373285
T20JPNHideto Tanihara-31872707469285
T20VENJhonattan Vegas-31870737270285
T20ENGTommy Fleetwood-31871707074285
T24USAChez Reavie-21869747172286
T24USADaniel Berger-21868717572286
T24KORHyun-Woo Ryu-21869736975286
T24THAKiradech Aphibarnrat-21865707576286
T24ENGMatthew Southgate-21868717473286
T24USAPat Perez-21872697669286
T24THAPoom Saksansin-21873706875286
T31FRAAlexander Levy-11871717174287
T31SWEAlexander Noren-11872727271287
T31USAMatt Kuchar-11867707278287
T31INDShiv Chawrasia-11872707372287
T31DENThorbjorn Olesen-11872736973287
T36ESPJon RahmPar1872746973288
T36USARussell HenleyPar1875687669288
T38MASGavin Green11865747377289
T38RSAHaydn Porteous11866747475289
T38AUSMarc Leishman11871796871289
T38IRLPaul Dunne11867737079289
T38RSARichard Sterne11873727668289
T38CHNWenchong Liang11872707374289
T44SCORichie Ramsay21873717571290
T44CHNXinjun Zhang21871777171290
T46ITAFrancesco Molinari31877717271291
T46THAPhachara Khongwatmai31869787074291
T46NZLRyan Fox31871697576291
T46USAXander Schauffele31871757471291
T50AUSAdam Scott41872727474292
T50RSACharl Schwartzel41873707376292
T50PARFabrizio Zanotti41873717177292
T50CHNHaotong Li41872767173292
T50JPNHideki Matsuyama41874747272292
T50USAHudson Swafford41870747573292
T50USALucas Glover41871757670292
T50USAPatrick Reed41866708274292
T58USAChan Kim51869727280293
T58USADavid Lipsky51869707282293
T58ENGJordan Smith51869737477293
T58ENGRoss Fisher51877707373293
T62USABill Haas61871737674294
T62AUSScott Hend61871687877294
T62USAWesley Bryan61877727174294
T65CANAdam Hadwin71869747973295
T65NZLMichael Hendry71873757176295
T67AUSMatthew Griffin81868777477296
T67FRAMichael Lorenzo-Vera81871717777296
T69KORSi-Woo Kim91871717976297
T69CHNZecheng Dou91871767575297
T71ENGGraeme Storm111875747575299
T71BELThomas Pieters111875796976299
73CHNWilliam Liu121872737778300
74AUSAshley Hall131874718076301
75AUSAndrew Dodt161874797477304
76RSABrandon Stone191878866875307
77CHNYi Cao231874837975311



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google