Sunday, July 16, 2017

Renfrewshire boys triumph 5-3 at home

against Dunbartonshire

Renfrewshire boys' continued the defence of the West League title, which they have won for the past two years, with a 5-3 win at home against Dunbartonshire at Eastwood Golf Club today.

This result maintains their position at the top of the league.

The course was in great condition but with the recent weather, any ball finding the rough was as good as lost. Just ask Jonny Murphy who did not have one of his better days.

The Renfrewshire team remained unchanged from their last winning encounter against the strong Lanarkshire team.

Due to injury Dunbartonshire were a player short and therefore had to concede one of the matches.

The games mostly started the way that they would finish with those who were up early on maintaining that advantage

Murphy was first to fall, losing a few balls off stray drives and going down by 7 and 5.

Recovery was quick, however, with Cammy Johnstone playing steady golf and running out a comfortable winner by 6 and 5.

The normally solid Roddy McAuley struggled in a game where he should have been comfortable and lost by 5 and 4.

Aidan O’Hagan, pictured right, was wondering what was happening as his opponent was holing everything in sight but he eventually managed to control the game, winning three holes in a row to win by 3 and 2.

Greg McCaffer, again thrown in at the deep end, was up against a solid Dunbartonshire boy and, despite being square with five hole to play, ran out of steam and went down by 3 and 2.

Undefeated Euan McNeill maintained his impressive record this year, and in a game where he was never behind came through with a solid 3 and 1 win.

In the top game Ibrahim Hussain, current boys' champion at Eastwood, having beaten the newly crowned Scottish boys champion, Greg Dalziel, in the last match against  Lanarkshire, was in no mood to give anything away to his opponent and proved his worth with a comfortable 5 and 4 win.

 Renfrewshire names first
Jonathan Murphy (Erskine) lost to Jack Pike (Clober) 7 and 5.
Cameron Johnstone (Eastwood) bt Liam Taylor (Bearsden) 6 and 5.
Roddy McAuley (Fereneze) lost to Kyle Murphy (Clydebank and District) 5 and 4.
Aidan O’Hagan (Old Ranfurly) bt Blane McFadyean (Kirkintilloch) 3 and 2.
Greg McCaffer (Whitecraigs) lost to Murray McVicar (Hilton Park 3 and 2.
Euan McNeill (Lochwinnoch) bt Max McCluskey (Lenzie) 3 and 1.
Aidan Reid (Whitecraigs) walk-over
Ibrahim Hussain (Eastwood) bt Keiran Hughes(Hilton Park) 5 and 4.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google