Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Tonight's Aberdeen Links match-play results

Aberdeen Links championship top seed Oliver

is beaten at the 19th by Ross

Northern's Craig Ross claimed the scalp of the top seed, David Oliver (Caledonian), winner of the Royal Aberdeen Medal as leading qualifier for the match-play stages, by holing a 6ft birdie putt at the 19th hole as the Aberdeen Links championship match-play stages produced the four semi-finalists.
On Friday evening, Ross will play Bryan Innes, many times champion of Murcar Links and in the Links field this year because the championship is now open to all members of clubs who compete in the Aberdeen and District Pennant League.
Innes beat Neil Mitchell (Bon Accord) by one hole, having birdied the 17th to go one up and halving the 18th.
Defending champion Barrie Reid (Caledonian), who was also the Links title winner in 2011, was beaten by Barrie Edmond (Bon Accord), a multi-year winner of the title.
Edmond won by one hole. He has won the title in 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2015.
Alan Doig (Caledonian), Links champion in 2014, lost his Handicap Shield tie to Graeme Robertson (Northern) by 4 and 3. In the competition Justin Thomas (Bon Accord) birdied the short 18th to seal a two-hole win over Donald Smith (Portlethen).

Jackie Forrest (Northern), holder of the Murray Cup,  is through to the last four again with a 4 and 3 win over Ryan Grieve (Bon Accord).
Brook Smith (Caledonian) holed a 40ft birdie putt to edge out Norman Stewart (Northern) 2 and 1 in the Murray Cup.

Tonight's results


Craig Ross (N) bt David Oliver (C) at 19th.
Bryan Innes (Murcar Links) b Neil Mitchell (BA) 1 hole.
Barrie Edmond (BA) bt Barrie Reid (C) 1 hole
Matthew Greig (BA) bt Ritchie Davidson (C) 1 hole.


Graeme Meade (C) (6) bt Alan Sheldrick (C) (9) 5 and 3.
Justin Thomas (BA) (4) v Donald Smith (Portlethen) (5) 2 holes.
Graeme  Robertson (N) (5) bt Alan Doig (C) (4) 4 and 3.
David Forbes (C) (8) v John S Gray (C) (7) 5 and 4.

 Jackie Forrest (N) (12) bt Ryan Grieve (BA) (12) 3 and 2.
Ross Duncan (BA) (13) bt Alec Shirreffs (N) (12) 5 and 4.
Paul Kane (Murcar Links)(10) bt Sean Kelly (BA) (10) 3 and 1.
Brook Smith (C) (10) bt Norman Stewart (N) (14) 2 and 1.

BA Bon Accord
C  Caledonian
N  Northern

The semi-finals will be played on Friday evening.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google