Thursday, September 22, 2016

Only four Scots make the cut on EuroPro Tour

Jonathan Caldwell shot a seven-under-par second round to lead the Clipper Logistics Championship by two shots on eight under par at Moor Allerton Golf Club, Leeds today.
The Northern Irishman, attached to Clandeyboye, finished second to Chris Gane after a play-off at Army Golf Club last month and a consistent season on the PGA EuroPro Tour means he is in a position whereby a win would see him leap into the top five on the Race To Desert Springs, from which the top five at the end of the season earn a 2017 Challenge Tour card.
He is trailed by one stroke by last year’s winner of this event, Mark Laskey (Brocket Hall/Team Honma), who has carded rounds of 68 and 67 on the par-71 course for a tournament score of seven under. 
Ashton Turner (Kenwick Park Golf Club) and Alex Wrigley (Hartlepool Golf Club) share third on six under, two back, with three golfers on five under.
Only four Scots beat the cut at 143 - Louis Gaughan (68-72 for 140 and T21), Conor O'Neil (70-71 for 141 and T27), and John Henry (73-69 for 142) and Paul McKechnie (70-74 for 142), both tied 35th.
The Clipper Logistics Championship is the final regular-season event before the Matchroom Sport Championship at Desert Springs Resort in Spain in October. Only the top 60 on the Race To Desert Springs Order of Merit receive an invite to the big-money tour finale meaning this was the final tournament for those outside of that position to move up the rankings. 
Zack Saltman (Archerfield Links Golf Club) was 60th before this week’s tournament, but having missed the one-over-par cut looks set to be dislodged.
Sandeep Grewal was one behind Saltman on the tour rankings but as one of three players at five under this week has assured himself an invite to the Tour Championship, provided he completes the tournament. 
The Clipper Logistics Championship concludes on Friday, with the final round to be filmed for a two-hour highlights package which will air on Sky Sports on Tuesday, October 4. Live scoring is available at and spectator entry is free of charge.

Par 142 (2x71)
134 Jonathan Caldwell (Clandeboy) 70 64
135 Mark Lskey (Brocket Hall) 65 67

140 Louis Gaughan 68 72 (T21)
141 Conor O'Neil 70 71 (T27)
142 John Henry 73 69, Paul McKechnie 70 72 (T35)

MISSED THE CUT (143 and better qualified)
144 James Steven 72 72, Neil Fenwick 68 70
145 Fraser Moore 71 74, Jordan McColl 72 73
146 Ryan Campbell 69 77, Zack Saltman 75 71
148 Michael Stewart 75 72, Craig Lawrie 72 76
149 Sean Lawrie 76 73
150 Michael Patterson 73 77
154 John Hendrick 75 79, Kris Nicol 75 79
156 Scott Borrowman 79 76





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google