Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Hat-trick win for Tain's Lyle McAlpine

Tain's Lyle McAlpine, a back-to-back winner of the Ross-shire County Championship in seasons 2010 and 2011, added his name to the J B W Dewar Cup for a third time at Strathpeffer Spa Golf Club, writes Robin Wilson
In stormy conditions, when the CSS rose from a morning 67 to non counting in round two, McAlpine made up a one shot deficit over Muir of Ord's Shaun Johnstone and two shots over local member Mike Bartlett with a superb second round card of 68 over the exposed Strathpeffer course to add to his first round 69 for a winning 137 aggregate. Johnstone had a second round card of 71 to finish as runner-up and bronze medallist with 139 while Bartlett's second round 72 relegated him to third place.

Three local members in the field of 32 won the handicap prizes, Alex Stewart, Ian Bartlett Jnr. and Neil Duff.
 (CSS 67 and Non Counting)
137 L McAlpine (Tain) 69 68). 
139 S Johnstone (Muir of Ord) 68 71. 
139 M Bartlett (Strathpeffer Spa) 67 72. 
A Stewart (Strathpeffer Spa) (21) 130 (62 68); I Bartlett junior (Strathpeffer Spa) (11) 62 69, N Duff (Strathpeffer Spa) (8)  62 69 131.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google