Tuesday, May 05, 2015

Tuesday night ties at Musselburgh postponed to Wednesday

Miller and Dick make shock early exits at 

Lothians Championship  

Defending champion David Miller and Stuart Cup winner Allyn Dick both suffered exits on the opening night of the Lothians Championship at Musselburgh.
Miller (Duddingston) lost at the 20th to West Linton's Stephen Smith while Dick (Kingsfield), the 2010 title-winner, went down by one hole to Deer Park's Keith Wilson.
Home hope Callum Burgess, last year's Stuart Cup winner, negotiated his opening test this time around after suffering the same fate as Dick 12 months ago.
A day before turning 22, Burgess beat West Lothian's Barrie Lewis on the 18th green.
Other winners included Longniddry teenager Jack Rogan and new Lothians team member Ross Thomson (Gullane).
This evening's scheduled play at Musselburgh was postponed due to bad weather.
The remaining eight first-round matches will now be played on Wednesday night, with play then progressing on Thursday and Friday.

Round 1 ties rearranged for Wednesday

4.45pm Stephen Simants (Dunbar) v Keith Watt (Turnhouse)
4.52 Kenny Mail (West Linton) v Daniel Eardley (Liberton)
5.00 Alan Stewart (Harrison) v Sean Marc (Broomieknowe)
5.07 John Yuille (Royal Burgess) v David Rudd (Longniddry)
5.15 Colin Renton (Broomieknowe) v Iain Melville (Glencorse)
5.22 Keith Reilly (Silverknowes) v Stuart Thorburn (Newbattle)
5.30 Craig Davidson (Craigielaw) v Lewis Bain (Musselburgh)
5.37 Scott Walker (West Linto
Round 1 results
Calum Burgess (Musselburgh) bt Barrie Lewis (West Lothian) one hole
Stephen Smith (West Linton) bt David Miller (Duddingston) at 20th
Ross Thomson (Gullane) bt Lewis Bain (Turnhouse) 4 and 3
Derek Thomson (Glencorse) bt Alan Sim (Broomieknowe) 2 and 1
Keith Wilson (Deer Park) bt Allyn Dick (Kingsfield) one hole
Ricky Moffat (Turnhouse) bt Alan Crawford (Deer Park) 4 and 3.
Sean McGarvey (Glencorse) bt Jordyn Rhind (Kingsfield) 4 and 3.
Jack Rogan (Longniddry) bt Sean Walter (West Linton) 2 and 1

Dick wins Stuart Cup for second time

Kingsfield's Allyn Dick won the Stuart Cup for the second time in four years after leading the qualifiers for the Lothians Championship.

The former Scottish international followed a morning 70 at Broomieknowe with a 68 at Glencorse to finish two shots clear of the field.
n) v Jamie McIntosh (Broomieknowe)

Dick will now try to regain the title he won in 2010 when the match-play takes place at Musselburgh.
Both a shot back after 36 holes, West Linton's Sean Walter and West Lothian's Barry Lewis were his closest challengers, with Jamie McIntosh from Broomieknowe and Musselburgh's Lewis Bain, who had a best-of-the-day 64 at Glencorse, a stroke further adrift.
The last of the three 32 spots in the knock-out phase were decided on a countback among those on 147.
The CSS for both courses was +3.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google