Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Edinburgh and East of Scotland Alliance




Edinburgh and East of Scotland Alliance
On a day when kind weather was on display at Falkirk Tryst for the last pre-championship outing of the season, 74 members of the Edinburgh and East Alliance contested to get their name on The Alliance Trophy.
Two players carded a fine net score of 65, three shots ahead of third place and yet again this season the name on the silverware had to be decided on a better inward nine holes.
Winner of The Alliance Trophy is Michael Carrigan (Greenburn) (76 less 11). His level par 34 inward nine resulting in a net 28.5 which comfortably won from David Meldrum (68 less 3) whose 35 inward resulted in a net inward of 33.5.
In third place was Peter Louden (Glencorse) on net 68 (78 less 10).
On the scratch front the top score and prize was shared by two players. Early in the day Andy Marshall (Houston DR) posted a three under par 67 which was equalled only in the second last match when Malcolm Pennycott (Royal Burgess) also posted a 67. Both players had halves of  outward 34 and inward 33.
Close behind, sharing third spot on 68 were Gordon Law (Uphall) and Lloyd Saltman (Archerfield Links).
Top Trainee was Ross Munro (Duddingston) with a one over par 71.
Top Senior prize on net 70 was shared by Gordon Bell (Gullane) (74 less 4) and Michael Louden (Glencourse) (73 less 3).
The Handicap Order of Merit was decided today and top spot goes to Danny Airens (Falkirk Tryst) on 184pts.

In second place is Walter Forsyth (Peebles) on 162.5pts with third place going to Martin Rennie (Uphall) on 158pts.
Top Senior in The Handicap Order of Merit and winner of The Harvey Butterworth Trophy is Michael Louden (Glencorse) on 81.5pts.
The Scratch Order of Merit will be decided next week at the annual East Championship when double points will be available. After today's results the top three are -
1. Chris Morris (Kingsknowe) - 691.5
2. Ross Munro (Duddingston) - 569.0
3. Craig Gordon (Edinburgh GC) - 562.5
With a max of 120 points available next week it means Chris Morris has today secured top prize but the fight is still on to secure second and third prizes.
Next week the Annual Championship will be hosted by Gullane Golf Club over No.2 and No.3 courses.
Alan Greenshields
Edinburgh and East of Scotland Golfers' Alliance
70 Sydney Crescent
Mobile:07730 007100
Alliance Mobile: 07814 983582

Overall Winner Michael Carrigan (Greenburn) 65 bih
Scratch Prize Surname Forename Club Score
1st= £90 Marshall Andrew  Houston G.R. 67
1st= £90 Pennycott Malcolm Royal Burgess 67
3rd= £50 Law Gordon  Uphall 68
3rd= £50 Saltman Lloyd Archerfield Links 68
5th £20 Culverwell Alexander Dunbar 69
Handicap Prize Surname Forename Club Net
1st= £90 Carrigan Michael  Greenburn 65
1st= £90 Meldrum David Uphall 65
3rd= £60 Louden Peter Glencorse 68
4th= £30 Allison Liam Bathgate 69
4th= £30 Roberts Malcolm Duddingston 69
Trainee  Prize Surname Forename Club Score
Professional £20 Munro Ross  Duddingston 71
£10 Fraser Jamie Renaissance Club 72
Senior Prize Surname Forename Club Net
£25 Bell Gordon  Gullane 70
£25 Louden Michael  Glencorse 70
£5 Denham John Torwoodlee 71
£5 Wardlaw Stuart  Harburn 71



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google