Friday, September 05, 2014


 Left to right: James Hourigan (gross winner), Mick Horsely (gross runner-up), Pul Cunningham (nett winner), Billy Cairns (Stableford winner), Stevie Cunningham (nett runner-up), Trevor Crombie (Stableford runner-up). Centre is Tom Cavanagh from Sidey Ltd.

The Scottish Disability Golf Partnership has just concluded its fourth Pan-Disability Open Golf Championship at the Murrayshall House Hotel and golf courses near Perth.
The SDGP Open, which was the first to be fully inclusive for the disabled, was played over the Murrayshall course over 54 holes and was won by James Hourigan of Ireland (gross) and Paul Cunningham of England (net) with Billy Cairns of Scotland taking the Stableford championship.
The Scottish Open trophy, which will remain in Scotland on display with other international trophies, in St Andrews, was sponsored by Sidey Windows Ltd of Perth. 
Jim Gales, secretary of the charity said, "Sidey Ltd have sponsored all the trophies this year and have done so since we began the Open back in 2008.  Along with other supporters like the Royal and  Ancient Golf Club and UK-wide Trusts, we have been able to provide a golf clinic for beginners and novices and subsidise everyone's attendance at the Open, so a special thanks must go to everyone who came good with support in these tricky financial times".
Stevie Cunningham, the charity's vice-chairman, said, "Richard Holt, the resident PGA professional at Murrayshall, and his team, provided a First Swing Clinic for some 30 beginners, novices and established disabled golfers on the opening day of the event.   
"Training and tuition was provided, with some fun elements, including a putting and chipping competition for youngsters.  Participants were also provided with equipment for the training and the chance to meet some of the Open and international players and have some golfing fun with them".
Leading results at the three-day competition were:
Overall net winners:
1 Paul Cunningham (England),  2 Steven Cunningham (Scotland). 
Overall gross winners:
1 James Hourigan (Ireland),  2 Mick Horsley (England).
Overall Stableford winners:
1 Billy Cairns (Scotland.), 2 Trevor Crombie (Scotland).





Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google