Tuesday, September 03, 2013


Paul O'Hara (Clydeway Golf) opened up a two-shot lead with a six-under-par 65 in the first round of the Scottish Youth Professionals' Championship at West Lothian Golf Club, Bo'ness.
O'Hara, beaten finalist in 2004, 2006 and 2009 in the Scottish amateur championship before he turned pro. had a bogey-free round, highlighted by an eagle 3 at the long 12th.
He also had two birdies either side of that - at the long fourth, 10th, long 14th and short 15th.
In second place overnight is Sam McLaren (Blairgowrie) with a 67 which also included an eagle 3- at the long fourth. Sam went back to level par with a bogey at the short sixth but he got back into red figures with birdies at the eighth and 10th.
A second bogey popped up at the 13th but again McLaren replied with two birdies, at the long 14th and short 15th.
Paul Betty (Hamilton), third placed on 69, had four birdies in a row between the second and fifth, boosting his bag of sub-par figures to six at the long 14th and 18th. But bogeys at the first, sxith, seventh and 11th dragged im down.
Neil Fenwick (Dunbar) and Keir McNicoll (Gullane), two of the pre-tournament title favourites, are on 70 and 72 respectively.

Par 71
65 Paul O'Hara (Clydeway Golf)
67 Sam McLaren (Blairgowrie)
69 Paul Betty (Hamilton).
70 Neil Fenwick (Dunbar), Neil Cameron (Blairgowrie), Greg Paterson (St Andrews Links Golf Acad), Daniel Flannery (Caldwell), Jim Poyser (Renaissance), Paul Robinson (Largs).
71 Sean Bissett (unatt), Richard Holt (unatt), Grant Smith (Gleneagles Hotel), Colin Robinson (Prestonfield), Jamie Mackay (North Gailes)
72 Keir McNicoll (Gullane), Chris Brown (Carrick on Loch Lomond), Calum Lawson (Wellsgreen).
73 Ewan Macpherson (Auchterarder), Rob Satterley (Swanston New), Murray Paterson (Cruden Bay), Ross McConnachie (Peterculter), Louis Gaughan (Bathgate), Oliver Huish (North Bertwick), Matthew Burt (Helensburgh), Christopher Robinson (Portpatrick Dunskey), Fraser Clarke (Newmachar).
74 Andrew Munro (Musselburgh), Jamie Fraser (Renaissance), Scott Cstello (Strathaven), Ross Munro (Duddingston), Martin Shaw (Whitecraigs).
75 Andrew Burns (Bothwell Castle), Jordan Galagher (Douglas Park), Iain McNab  (Dundonald Links), Ian Anderson (Colville Park), Matthew Robertson (Balmore).

76 Ailsa Bain (Macdonald Cardrona)
77 Graeme Nethercott (Deeside)
78 Ryan Penny (Kings Links), Tom Dingwall (Nairn Dunbar).
80 Emma Fairnie (Gullane), Sean Fay (Royal Dornoch)
81 Reece Mitchell (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre).
82 Joel Hopwood (Royal Aberdeen).

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google