Tuesday, April 30, 2013




It's tight at the top at the halfway stage of the Spey Valley 36-hole Challenge with two shots spanning the leading 10 players after a cold - frost delayed the start by 30min - and windy day
at the Aviemore venue.
James McKinnon (Irvine), David Orr (Meanrs Castle) and Andrew
Oldcorn (Kings Acre) share the overnight lead on level par 72 over the Dave Thomas-designed heather-lined course on the banks of the River Spey.
McKinnon eagled the third but he began to scatter shots after turning in two-under 34 and needed to birdie the 17th and 18th to stay in the picture.
Orr did his best work over the early holes - birdies at the third, fourth and fifth in 34 to the turn.
Oldcorn had an adventu
rous inward half of 35 which included a double bogey 6 at the 12th but also birdies at the 11th, 13th, 14th and 17th and a bogey at the short 16th.
Shot of the day belonged to Stephen Gray. The Hayston pro aced the 16th but then bogeyed the last two holes for joint third place with seven other players on 73.
So the competition will be keen for the first prize of round about £1,750 in a tournament with a prize fund of £10,000.

Par 72
72 J McKinnon (Irvine), D Orr (Mearns Castle), A Oldcorn (Kings Acre).
73 D Patrick (Elie SC), F Dunlop (Gleneagles), K Hutton (Downfield), C Ronald (Carluke), G Hutcheon (Banchory), S Gray (Hayston), S Savage (Dalmuir), G McBain (Gamola).

74 F Cromarty (Castle Stuart), D Roger (Windyhill), S Morrison (Tain), P Robinson (Largs), G Brown (Montrose Links),C Matheson (Falkirk Tryst).
75 G Fox (Clydeway Golf), C Kelly (Cawder), G Smith (Gleneagles), J Lomas (Caprington), GH Wright (West Linton), M King (Kingsfield).

76 M Urquhart (Spey Valley), S Lamb (Macdonald Cardrona), K Campbell (Machrihanish), C Russell (RAW Golf Design), C Robinson (Portpatrick Dunskey).
77 C Tierney (Affordable Golf), M Patterson (Kilmacolm), K McNicoll (Gullane), T Dingwall (Nairn Dunbar0, I Taylor (Drumpellier), C Knowles (Panmure), Malcolm Isaacs (Paul Lawrie Golf Centre), Scott Herald (Mearns Castle).
78 M Murray (Brora), P Wilson (Cawder), I Brown (Newent), P Brookes (Pitreavie), C Gillies (Kingsfield), F Robertson (Elie SC).
79 C Gordon (Edinburgh Golf Centre), A Rollo (Nairn Dunbar), J Henry (Clydebank and Dist), Andrew Munro (Musselburgh), G Hardy (Ayr Belleisle).
80 J Gallagher (Douglas Park), J Hopwood (Royal Aberdeen), C Everett (Caldwell), C O'Neil (Pollok (am), M Kerr (Marriott Dalmahoy), C Currie (Caldwell), C Robinson (Prestonfield).
81 J Dick (Duddingston), R McConnachie (Peterculter), E Walker (Burntisland), J McCreadie (Buchanan Castle), P Walker (Ballumbie Castle), L McLaughlin (Whitecraigs).
82 L Burnett (Mearns Castle), J Erskine (unatt), R Dixon (Renaissance), G McFarlane (Clober), S McAllister (Renaissance Club), J Cliff (Murrayfield), J Cliff (Murrayfield), G Forbes (unatt).
83 C McMaster (Panmure), P Wardell (Whitekirk), R Arnott (Bishopbriggs).
84 F Clarke (Newmachar), R Rushford (Swanston New), I Stoddart (Uphall), P Smith (Deeside), S Henderson (Kings Links), M Mackenzie (Edzell).
86 E Hogarth (Peebles), C Lawson (unatt).
87 R Harrower (Boat of Garten).
88 A Purdie (Kingsbarns).
89 R Holt (unatt).


  1   8:00 AM   Richard Holt
                Ross Harrower, Boat of Garten Golf & Tennis C
                Calum Lawson

  1   8:10 AM   Ewan Hogarth, Peebles Golf Club
                Michael Mackenzie, Edzell Golf Club
                Peter Smith, Deeside Golf Club

  1   8:20 AM   Scott Henderson, Kings Links Golf Centre
                Iain Stoddart, Uphall Golf Club
                Robert Rushford, Swanston New Golf Club

  1   8:30 AM   Fraser Clarke, Newmachar Golf Club
                Kevin McNiven, Gleneagles Hotel Golf Courses
                David McCallum, Golfsphere Ltd

  1   8:40 AM   Robert Arnott, Bishopbriggs Golf Range
                Paul Wardell, Whitekirk Golf Course
                Christopher McMaster, Panmure Golf Club

  1   8:50 AM   Graham Forbes, Unattached *
                Jonathan Cliff, Murrayfield Golf Club
                Stephen McAllister, Renaissance Club

  1   9:00 AM   Gary McFarlane, Clober Golf Club
                Ross Dixon, Renaissance Club
                Jamie Fraser

  1   9:10 AM   James Erskine, Portpatrick Dunskey Golf Club
                Lewis Burnett, Mearns Castle Golf Academy
                Les McLaughlin, Whitecraigs *

  1   9:20 AM   Patrick Walker, Ballumbie Castle Golf Course
                Jason McCreadie, Buchanan Castle Golf Club
                Eric Walker, Burntisland *

  1   9:30 AM   Ross McConnachie, Peterculter Golf Club
                James Dick, Duddingston *
                Matthew Laughtland, Bishopbriggs Golf Range

  1   9:40 AM   Colin Robinson, Prestonfield Golf Club
                Christopher Currie, Caldwell Golf Club
                Conor O'Neil, Pollok *

  1   9:50 AM   Mark Kerr, Marriott Dalmahoy Golf & Count
                Craig Everett, Caldwell Golf Club
                Joel Hopwood, Royal Aberdeen Golf Club

  1   10:00 AM  Jordan Gallagher, Douglas Park Golf Club
                Gareth Hardy, Belleisle Golf Course
                Andrew Munro, Musselburgh Golf Club

  1   10:10 AM  John Henry, Clydebank & District *
                Andrew Rollo, Nairn Dunbar Golf Club
                Craig Gordon, Edinburgh Golf Centre

  1   10:20 AM  Fraser Robertson, Elie Sports Centre
                Colin Gillies, Kingsfield Golf Range
                Ian Brown, Newent Golf Club

  1   10:30 AM  Paul Brookes, Pitreavie Golf Club
                Paul Wilson, Cawder Golf Club
                Malcolm Murray, Brora Golf Club

  1   10:40 AM  Scott Herald, Mearns Castle Golf Academy
                Malcolm Isaacs, Paul Lawrie Golf Centre
                Craig Knowles, Panmure Golf Club

  1   10:50 AM  Ian Taylor, Drumpellier Golf Club
                Tom Dingwall, Nairn Dunbar Golf Club
                Keir McNicoll, Gullane Golf Club

  1   11:00 AM  Michael Patterson, Kilmacolm Golf Club
                Christopher Tierney, Affordable Golf
                Christopher Robinson, Portpatrick Dunskey Golf Club

  1   11:10 AM  Christopher Russell, RAW Golf Course Design
                Ken Campbell, Machrihanish Golf Club
                Stephen Lamb, Macdonald Cardrona Golf & Coun

  1   11:20 AM  Murray Urquhart, Spey Valley Golf Course
                Mark King, Kingsfield Golf Range
                Gareth Wright, West Linton Golf Club

  1   11:30 AM  Jonathan Lomas, Caprington Golf Club
                Grant Smith, Gleneagles Hotel Golf Courses
                Chris Kelly, Cawder Golf Club

  1   11:40 AM  Graham Fox, Clydeway Golf
                Craig Matheson, Falkirk Tryst Golf Club
                Graeme Brown, Montrose Golf Links Ltd.

  1   11:50 AM  Paul Robinson, Largs Golf Club
                Stuart Morrison, Tain Golf Club
                David Roger, Windyhill *

  1   12:00 PM  Fraser Cromarty, Castle Stuart Golf Links
                Greg McBain, Gamola Golf
                Stewart Savage, Dalmuir Golf Club

  1   12:10 PM  Stephen Gray, Hayston Golf Club
                Greig Hutcheon, Banchory Golf Club
                Craig Ronald, Carluke Golf Club

  1   12:20 PM  Kenneth Hutton, Downfield Golf Club
                Fraser Dunlop, Gleneagles Hotel Golf Courses
                David Patrick, Kingsfield Golf Range

  1   12:30 PM  Andrew Oldcorn, Kings Acre Golf Course
                David Orr, Mearns Castle Golf Academy
                James McKinnon, Irvine Golf Club



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google