Monday, July 09, 2012


Falkirk Tryst winning team with Stirlingshire president Ian Howarth (second right).             
In the midst of the very wet summer conditions, local golf officials breathed a sigh of relief when the Alexander Trophy was completed on Sunday at Glenbervie.  Clubs in Stirling and Clackmannan Golf Unions compete for the trophy dating back to 1914, and this year 13 teams took part. 
The 2012 winning team was Falkirk Tryst Golf Club - by a comfortable four shots from the 2011 winner Alva Golf Club.  Best individual scratch score came from Dollar’s Darren Hulston with a well compiled six birdie 67.

  FULL RESULTS.  (best three scores to count from four)

1st Falkirk Tryst    219    (D Buchanan 77, N Cunningham 71, S McMehen 71)
2nd Alva  223 ( A Aitken  74, D Ashe 75, S McIvor 74)
3rd   Falkirk    224
4th  Glenbervie 224
5th Alloa  224
6th  Grangemouth  226
7th Bonnybridge 230
8th   Dollar 230
9th  Stirling  234
10th  Stirling Junior and Youth Society  235
11th  Tillicoultry 237
12th Earlsgate 263
13th   Braehead  NR 



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google