Wednesday, February 15, 2012


Ellon tour professional Ross Cameron chalked up two North-east Golfers' Alliance wins in a row when he pipped former Scotland women's international Laura Murray (Alford) for first prize at Buckpool GC today.
Cameron, sponsored by Saltire Energy, had to share the honours with Jordan Findlay at Peterhead last week but this time his one-over-par 71 in a testing wind gave him outright victory with a round in which he birdied the fourth, 16th and 18th, offset by bogeys at the fifth, 14th, 15th and 17th in halves of 35-36.
Laura, a member of the Paul Lawrie Foundation Elite Team, plays off the same tees as the men in Alliance competitions so this was quite a performance by the long-hitting former St Rule Trophy winner to fill second place with a 72 (37-35) in which she birdied the short 15th and par-4 17th. A bogey 6 at the 16th cost her a share of victory but it was still her best performance on the circuit.
On this form, Laura is on the road to regaining her Scotland international place in the 2012 season.
Carnoustie, venue for the British women's open amateur championship in June, should suit her game.
Newmachar amateur Euan Kennedy finished a creditable third with a 73.
Keith Watson (Deeside) won the Class 1 handicap prize with a net 71 off five while retired Hazlehead professional won Class 2 with a net 69 off 12.
Next Wednesday's competition is at Murcar Links

Par 70
71 Ross Cameron (Saltire Energy)
72 Laura Murray (Alford)
73 Euan Kennedy (Newmachar).
74 Donald Macandrew (Royal Aberdeen).
76 George Paterson (Northern), Keith Watson (Deeside).
77 Les Fowler (Royal Aberdeen), David Leslie  (Northern).
78 Ally Fiddes (Murcar Links), Mike Duncan (Murcar Links), Ryan Fitzpatrick (Inchmarlo), John Nicolson (Auchmill), Colin Nelson (Mackenzie Shop).
79 David Nelson (Aboyne), Fergus Bisset (Banchory), Robert Lamb (Newmachar).
80 Lawrence Prouse (Hazlehead), Willie McKenzie (Berryhill DR), Keil Beveridge (Inchmarlo), Phil Murray (Kemnay), Chris Brown (Kemnay).
81 Harry Roulston (Stonehaven), David Fleming (Portlethen), Mark Lawrie (Kemnay), Alan Gall (Deeside), Ian D Smith (Hazlehead), Jim Duncan (Newburgh), Gordon Milne (Newburgh).

Class 1 - K Watson (Deeside) (5) 71; L Fowler (Royal Aberdeen) (5) (bih), M Duncan (Murcar Links) (6), P Murray (Kemnay) (8) 72.
Class 2 - I D Smith (Hazlehead) (12) 69; M Booth (Kemnay) (11) 71; P Cornfield (Auchmill) (15) 72; N Chisholm (Kemnay) (11) 73; T Collie (Kemnay) (11) 75.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google