Wednesday, November 16, 2011


Banchory's Greig Hutcheon, pictured, stepped up a gear to win a £100 first scratch prize today's North-east Golfers' Alliance competition at Peterhead with a sparkling six-under-par round of 64.
Last week the Tartan Tour's second top money-winner in 2011 finished third on his first appearance on the local winter circuit for some time. Seven days later Hutcheon's power and precision saw him finish three shots clear of a field of 89 over the Craigewan links.
Greig brdied the first, third and long eighth, dropping only one shot, at the fifth, in an outward two-under-par 33.
A double bogey at the short 10th brought him back to par with a bump but he covered the last six holes in six under par with birdie 3s at the 13th and 15th and a brilliant pair of eagles at the par-4 17th and the par-5 18th for 31 (four-under-par) home - and that with a double bogey!
Joint runners-up on 67 were Murcar Links tour pro Terry Mathieson and Caledonian amateur Stewart Finnie.
Mathieson actually covered the front nine in a shot fewer than Hutcheon - three-under-par 32 with a birdie at the second and an eagle 3 at the long eighth. But Terry dropped shots at the 10th, 11th and 13th before picking up the momentum again to birdie the 14th, 15th and 18th for a 67.
Joel Hopwood (Carnegie Club) made the long journey to Peterhead from Skibo Castle and finished fourth on 68. Joel too was out in three-under 32 with birdies at the third, seventh and eighth. He had bogeys at the 10th, 12th, 15th and 16th which could not be cancelled out with birdies at the 11th, 13th and 18th.
Eight men broke the par of 70, including last week's winner, RGU student Gordon Munro (Fraserburgh), another recent winner in John Duff (Newmachar),  and North-east District player Scott Larkin who is beginning to recapture the form he showed before a wrist operation in the spring put him out of the game until just recently. All of them were on the 69 mark.
Robert O'Donnell (Oldmeldrum) won the Class 1 handicap top prize with a net 66 off three, while Mike Smith (Inverurie), playing off 16, won Class 2 with a net 63.

Par 70
64 Greig Hutcheon (Banchory).
67 Terry Mathieson (Murcar Links), Stewart Finnie (Caledonian).
68 Joel Hopwood (Carnegie Club).
69 Robert O'Donnell (Oldmeldrum), Gordon Munro (Fraserburgh), Scott Larkin (Royal Aberdeen), John Duff (Newmachar).
70 Scott Henderson (Kings Links).
71 Sandy Pirie (Hazlehead).
72 Euan Kennedy (Newmachar), George Paterson (Northern), Fraser Clark (Newmachar), Robert Lamb (Newmachar).
73 Brian Nicolson (Auchmill), John Nicolson (Auchmill), Donald McAndrew (Royal Abedeen), Paul McIntosh (Newburgh), Graham Mitchell (Braemar), Albert Smth (Turriff), David Fleming (Portlethen), Laura Murray (Alford).
74 Jim Duncan (Newburgh), Fergus Bisset (Banchory), Lawrence Prouse (Hazlehead), Martin May (Cruden Bay), Colin Nelson (Mackenzie Club).
75 Jim Scott (Peterculter), Manson Merchant (Newmachar), David Brown (Kemnay), Bryan Robson (Newmachar), Charles Cassie (Nigg Bay), Craig Carnegie (Kemnay).
76 Ryan Fitzpatrick (Inchmarlo), Claire Prouse (Hazlehead), Alan Gall (Deeside), Gary Ross (Meldrum House).
77 Keil Beveridge (Inchmarlo), Colin Ord (Auchmill), Les Fowler (Royal Aberdeen), Willie Skene (Deeside), Brian Harper (Newburgh).
78 John Borthwick (Craibstone), Nigel Parker (Murcar Links), Harry Roulston (Stonehaven).
79 Keith Watson (Deeside), Martin Forster (Cruden Bay), Jim Murray (Banchory), Mike Smith (Inverurie), Tommy Collie (Kemnay).
80 Willie McKenzie (Berryhill DR), Ian Esslemont (Cruden Bay).
81 David Leslie (Northern), Leslie Roger (Royal Aberdeeen), Loren Graham (Murcar Links), Mike Duncan (Murcar Links).
82 Alister Graham (Aboyne), Ben Lumsden (Northern).
83 Hamish McNaughton (Cruden Bay).
84 Michael Rendall (Stonehaven), Michael Holley (Ballater).
85 Derek Randall (Banchory), Kenny Stephen (Northern), George Stevely (Murcar Links).
86 Sandy Davidson (Northern), Jackie Forrest (Northern), Peter Guthrie (Peterculter), Mike D Brown (Newmachar), Norman Stewart (Northern).
87 Peter Leech (Oldmeldrum), Gary Homer (Northern), Raymond Brown (Newburgh), Ian Grant (Keith).
88 Alister Petrie (Oldmeldrum), Dick Wright (Northern), Chris Brindley (Banchory).
90 Mike Brown (Newburgh).
91 John Jessiman (Oldmeldrum), Graham Allan (Newmachar).

Class 1 - R O'Donnell (Oldmeldrum) (3) 66; G Milne (Newburgh) (6) 67; M Merchant (Newmachar) (7), C Prouse (Hazlehead) (8), R Lamb (Newmachar) (4), G Mitchell (Braemar) (5), L Prouse (Hazlehead) (6), M May (Cruden Bay) (6), W Skene (Deeside) (9), D Fleming (Portlethen) (5) 68.
Class 2 - Mike Smith (Inverurie) (16) 63; J Scott (Peterculter) (10) 65; N K Parker (Murcar Links) (12) 66; B Lumsden (Northern) (14), T Collie (Kemnay) (11) 68.

PETERHEAD SCORECARD: OUT: 4-3-4-4-4-3-4-5-4-35. IN: 3-4-4-4-4-4-3-4-5-35
Leading cards today:
GREIG HUTCHESON ................3-3-3-4-5-3-4-4-4-33: IN: 5-4-4-3-4-3-3-2-3-31
TERRY MATHIESON .................4-2-4-4-4-3-4-3-4-32:IN: 4-5-4-5-3-3-3-4-4-35
JOEL HOPWOOD ....................4-3-3-4-4-3-3-4-4-32:IN:  4-3-5-5-4-3-4-4-4-36
SCOTT LARKIN ......................4-3-4-4-4-3-4-3-4-33:IN:  3-6-4-5-5-3-4-3-3-36
GORDON MUNRO ...................5-3-4-3-4-3-3-5-4-34:IN:  4-3-4-5-3-4-4-5-3-35
ROBERT O'DONNELL ..............5-3-4-4-4-2-4-5-4-35: IN:  4-4-4-5-3-3-4-4-3-34
JOHN DUFF ..........................3-3-4-4-3-4-5-4-3-33: IN:  5-5-4-5-4-4-3-3-4-36
SCOTT HENDERSON ..............4-3-4-4-5-3-4-4-4-35: IN:  3-4-4-5-5-3-4-4-3-35



1 08:30 1 Keith Watson, Brian Harper, J Callum
2 08:37 1 Graham Mitchell, Michael Holley, Joss Turner
3 08:44 1 Craig Carnegie, Albert Smith, Ryan Fitzpatrick
4 08:51 1 Colin Nelson, Lawrence Prouse, John Dalgarno
5 08:58 1 Claire Prouse, Donald McAndrew, David Law

6 09:05 1 George Paterson, Jim Scott, Ally Fiddes
7 09:12 1 Fraser Clark, Gordon Munro, Terry Mathieson
8 09:19 1 Keil Beveridge, Laura Murray, Paul Simpson,
9 09:26 1 Harry Roulston, Michael Rendall, Leslie Roger
10 09:33 1 Mike Brown, Raymond Brown, Sandy Davidson
11 09:40 1 Jackie Forrest, Mike Duncan, Norman Stewart
12 09:47 1 David Fleming, Sandy Pirie, Les Fowler
13 09:54 1 John Duff, Jim Duncan, Paul McIntosh

14 10:01 1 Euan Kennedy, Robert Lamb, Manson Merchant
15 10:08 1 John Jessiman, Alister Petrie, Alan Gall
16 10:15 1 Gary Homer, Ben Lumsden, David Leslie
17 10:22 1 Ian Grant, Mike Smith, Willie Skene
18 10:29 1 David Brown, Mark Lawrie, Tommy Collie
19 10:36 1 David Nelson, David Wilson, Phil Murray

20 08:30 10 John Nicolson, Colin Ord, Grant Leslie
21 08:37 10 Paul Cornfield, Graham Allan, Martin Forster
22 08:44 10
23 08:51 10
24 08:58 10

25 09:05 10 Mike D Brown, Bryan Robson, Hamish McNaughton
26 09:12 10
27 09:19 10
28 09:26 10
29 09:33 10
30 09:40 10
31 09:47 10 Fergus Bisset, Scott Larkin, Mike Booth
32 09:54 10 Jim Murray, Chris Brindley, Derek Randall

33 10:01 10 Gary Ross, Alan Ross, Keith Ingram
34 10:08 10 Nigel Parker, George Stevely, Peter Guthrie
35 10:15 10 Willie McKenzie, Peter Leech, Martin May
36 10:22 10 Dick Wright, Kenny Stephen, Colin Clark
37 10:29 10 Stewart Finnie, Jim Gall, David McKay
38 10:36 10 Robert O'Donnell, Ian Esslemont, Alister Graham
39 10:43 10



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google