Wednesday, April 27, 2011


The countdown to the selection of the Great Britain and Ireland team of 10 for the Walker Cup match against the United States at Royal Aberdeen's Balgownie links on September 10-11 starts in earnest this weekend with the staging of the Lytham Trophy 72-hole tournament at Royal Lytham St Annes, Lancashire.
Only four Scots made the cut (leading 40 and ties) after two rounds last year when Fraserburgh's Kris Nicol emerged as an international-class player by finishing runner-up to the winning Irishman, Paul Cutler. Nicol totalled 287, three behind Cutler and three ahead of the joint third-placed finishers.
The only other Scots to make the last day's 36 holes in 2010 were Ross Kellett (Colville Park) T17 on 296, Philip McLean (Peterhead) T25 on 299 and Scott Larkin (Royal Aberdeen) T40 on 305.
This year there are29 entries from Scotland in the capacity field of 144 who have each paid an entry fee of £75. That equates to an income of £10,700 to the Royal Lytham St Annes Golf Club coffers.
The winner receives a silver replica of the "Sputnik Trophy," which was first played for in 1965 (won by Michael Bonallack), having been raised by members' donations. Only the first three and ties receive prize vouchers.
Interestingly enough, Kris Nicol has been paired with the only man to beat him 12 months ago, Paul Cutler (Portstewart), and Brian Souter (Leven Golfing Society), winner of the Scottish Champion of Champions tournament at the beginning of the month.

Scots' tee times for the first two rounds on Friday and Saturday are:
07.30 and 11.40: Kyle McClung (Wigtownshire Co).
07.40 and 11.50: Scott Larkin (Royal Aberdeen).
07.50 and 12.00: Philip McLean (Peterhead).
08.00 and 12.10: Michael Stewart (Troon Welbeck).
08.20 and 12.30: Brian Soutar (Leven GS), Kris Nicol (Fraserburgh).
08.30 and 12.40: Greg Nicolson (Mortonhall).
09.00 and 13.10: David Law (Hazlehead).
09.10 and 13.20: Graeme Robertson (Glenbervie), Mark Halliday (Royal Aberdeen).
09.40 and 13.50: Steven Rennie (Drumpellier).
09.50 and 14.00: Gordon Stevenson (Whitecraigs).
10.00 and 14.20: Stephen Speirs ((Australia/Scotland).
10.10 and 14.20: Paul Shields (Kirkhill), John Duff (Newmachar).
10.30 and 14.30: Michael Campbell (Renfrew).
11.10 and 15.20: Fraser McKenna (Balmore).
11.50 and 07.40: Alexander Culverwell (Dunbar).
12.00 and 07.50: Jordan Findlay (Fraserburgh).
12.10 and 08.00: Paul Gault (Westerwood), Michael Smyth (Royal Troon).
12.50 and 08.40: Ross Bell (Downfield).
13.30 and 09.20: Daniel Elder (Carnoustie).
13.40 and 09.30: Glenn Campbell (Blairgowrie).
14.40 and 10.30: Peter Latrimer (St Andrews New).
14.50 and 10.40: Scott Crichton (Aberdour).
15.00 and 10.50: Ross Kellett (Colville Park).
15.10 and 11.00: Allyn Dick (Kingsknowe).
15.20 and 11.10: Greg Paterson (St Andrews New).
15.30 and 11.20: James White (Lundin).

1970: Jim Farmer and Charlie Green.
1974: Charlie Green.
1975: George Macgregor.
1978: Brian Marchbank.
1980: Ian Hutcheon.
1983: Stephen McAllister.
1995: Stephen Gallacher.
1997: Graham Rankin.
1998: Lorne Kelly.
2003: Stuart Wilson.
2007: Lloyd Saltman.

E-mail from Peter Shurrock
To update your note on the Lytham Trophy. There were no play-offs at Lytham before 1975 when, in the first one, George Macgregor beat Peter Deeble over a five-hole play-off. Play-offs these days, if required, are over 3 holes (1, 2, 18) due to the speed of play and lack of light!
Prior to 1975 the title was shared if there was a tie as is still the case with the Brabazon Trophy.
Peter Shurrock



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google