Thursday, June 24, 2010

Dredge and Whiteford share honours in Munich

Welshman Bradley Dredge and Scot Peter Whiteford took the first-day honours at the BMW International Open in Munich with eight-under rounds of 64.
But if that was dream stuff then the nightmare belonged to Sergio Garcia, who lies second last after slumping to a five-over 77.
Only little-known German professional Christopher Trunzer, not a European Tour member, is below him.
Garcia, who had two double bogeys in his last three holes, suffered by far the worst of the players back from the US Open and battling with nine hours of jetlag.
Ernie Els, third at Pebble Beach, bogeyed the last two holes for a 70, while world number eight Paul Casey returned a 68.
Neither Dredge nor Whiteford were involved in the second major of the year. They are 173rd and 203rd in the world respectively, but that still makes them higher-ranked than the four players who are their closest challengers overnight. Thailand's Chapchai Nirat is 287th, Dane Jeppe Huldahl 290th and Argentina's Ariel Canete 448th, while Dredge's compatriot Phillip Price, the other man to shoot 65, has dropped to 982nd in the rankings since his Ryder Cup triumph over Phil Mickelson eight years ago.
Dredge set the early target after turning in 33, making an eagle on the long 11th and then finishing with three birdies in a row.
Par 72
64 Peter Whiteford, Bradley Dredge
65 Jeppe Huldahl (Den), Phillip Price, Ariel Canete (Arg), Chapchai Nirat (Tha)
66 Peter Lawrie, Pablo Larrazabal (Spa)
67 Christian Cevaer (Fra), Charl Schwartzel (Rsa), Kenneth Ferrie, Peter Hanson (Swe), Markus Brier (Aut), Ignacio Garrido (Spa), Gregory Bourdy (Fra), Simon Thornton
68 Anders Hansen (Den), Oliver Fisher, Thongchai Jaidee (Tha), Graeme Storm, Alvaro Quiros (Spa), Jamie Elson, Felipe Aguilar (Chi), David Drysdale, Paul Casey, Peter O'Malley (Aus)
69 Andrew Tampion (Aus), Ross Fisher, Joost Luiten (Ned), Steven Jeppesen (Swe), Peter Baker, Michael Jonzon (Swe), David Horsey, Marcel Siem (Ger), Nicolas Colsaerts (Bel), Scott Drummond, Ross Bain, Simon Khan, Daniel Vancsik (Arg), Robert Coles, Richard Finch, Paul Lawrie, Lorenzo Gagli (Ita), Thomas Levet (Fra)
70 Soren Kjeldsen (Den), Andrew Butterfield, Maximilian Kieffer (Ger), James Kingston (Rsa), Danny Lee (Nzl), Ernie Els (Rsa), Benjamin Hebert (Fra), Gonzalo Fdez-Castano (Spa), Richard Bland, Jeev Milkha Singh (Ind), Bernhard Langer (Ger), David Howell, Colin Montgomerie, Paul Waring, Julien Quesne (Fra), Mark Brown (Nzl), Raphael Jacquelin (Fra), Gary Lockerbie, Gary Murphy, Rick Kulacz (Aus), Mark Foster, Fredrik Andersson Hed (Swe)
71 Chris Gane, Patrik Sjoland (Swe), Danny Willett, Martin Kaymer (Ger), Clodomiro Carranza (Arg), Peter Hedblom (Swe), Alejandro Canizares (Spa), Alastair Forsyth, Rafael Cabrera Bello (Spa), Marcus Fraser (Aus), Michael Hoey, Anton Haig (Rsa), Steve Webster, Shiv Kapur (Ind), Jarmo Sandelin (Swe), Andrew Coltart, Julien Guerrier (Fra), Maarten Lafeber (Ned), Andrew Dodt (Aus), Darren Clarke, Alex Cejka (Ger), Sam Hutsby, Gary Clark, Stephan Gross Jnr (Ger), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spa), Jamie Donaldson, Fabrizio Zanotti (Par), Jean-Francois Lucquin (Fra), Paul McGinley, Jyoti Randhawa (Ind)
72 Jean-Baptiste Gonnet (Fra), Martin Wiegele (Aut), Robert Jan Derksen (Ned), Francois Delamontagne (Fra), Matteo Manassero (Ita), Steven O'Hara, David Lynn, Jose Manuel Lara (Spa), Marco Ruiz (Par), Marc Warren, Mark F Haastrup (Den), Eirik Tage Johansen (Nor), Sven Struver (Ger), Niclas Fasth (Swe), Phillip Archer, James Kamte (Rsa
73 Jochen Lupprian (Ger), Damien McGrane, John Parry, Mikko Ilonen (Fin), Scott Strange (Aus), Paul Broadhurst, Ricardo Gonzalez (Arg), Robert Karlsson (Swe), Jose-Filipe Lima (Por), Brett Rumford (Aus), David Dixon, Richard Green (Aus), Alexander Knappe (Ger), Sam Little
74 Fredrik Ohlsson (Swe), Michael Campbell (Nzl), Martin Erlandsson (Swe), Sion E Bebb, Nick Dougherty, Shiv Shankar Prasad Chowrasia (Ind), Carlos Rodiles (Spa), Nicolas Meitinger (Ger), Anthony Kang (USA), Carl Suneson (Spa), Shane Lowry, Tano Goya (Arg)
75 Richie Ramsay, Alexander Noren (Swe), Constantin Schwierz (Ger), Anwed Fischer (Ger), Ross McGowan
76 Hennie Otto (Rsa), Sir Nick Faldo, Rafael Echenique (Arg), James Ruth, Sebi Garcia (Spa), Florian Fritsch (Ger)
77 Stephen Gallacher, Andrew McArthur, Tino Schuster (Ger), Sergio Garcia (Spa), Richard McEvoy
78 Christopher Trunzer (Ger)
RTD: Mikael Lundberg (Swe)



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google