Monday, May 10, 2010

Hugh Hunter's Clackmannan County News

Clackmannan boys' match-play finals. Front row (left to right): Bill Abernethy (Clackmannan county president), Rikky Alexander (Anderson Trophy winner), Calum Boyd (Jubilee Trophy winner). Back row: runners-up Calum Graham and Grant Murray. Images courtesy of Hugh Hunter.

Clackmannan foursomes winning team from Alloa Golf Club. Front row (left to right): Bill Abernethy (county president), Jamie Aitken (team captain with trophy), Ian Guthrie, Sheila Travers (Alloa Golf Club captain). Back row: Ian Ross, John Salmond, Scott Moffat, David Milloy.


The second week of the Clackmannan County Fours continued the keenly fought matches seen in the first week. The first semi-final between Alloa and Braehead saw Braehead hold a slight advantage by two holes at the halfway point.
While the middle match stayed in Braehead’s favour, the first and last matches gained the necessary leads that took Alloa to the final by a single hole.
In the other semi-final, it was the third Alva pairing that forged ahead on the second nine and Alva went through by three holes.

ALLOA bt BRAEHEAD by one hole.
Alloa names first
Ian Guthrie & Ian Ross bt Mike Rust & Sandy Douglas 2 holes
Scott Moffat & David Milloy lost to Jim Muir& Kevin Tainsh 3 holes.
Jamie Aitken & John McLaren bt Ross Benvie & Andrew Borek 2 holes.

ALVA bt TILLICOULTRY by three holes.
(Tillicoultry names first)
John Gullen & James Malcolm lost to Steve McIvor & Lawrence Allan 5 holes.
Scott Baird & Andrew Macpherson bt Michael Robertson & Alan Flannagan 4 holes.
Kevin Ross & Keith Watson lost to Kevin McFarlane & Allan Aitken 2 holes.

The final between Alloa and Alva was keenly contested, and it was only in the final stages of the match that Alloa took a commanding advantage. Ian Ross and Ian Guthrie quickly went two up after three and this proved decisive--- Alloa held this margin right to the last hole.
The two other matches were square after nine holes; second pairing finished strongly leaving the last couple very little to do on the closing holes.
Team captain Jamie Aitken was delighted by the team performance “The team played well to take the title for the first time since 1996—the win makes up for the disappointment of last yeas loss”

ALLOA bt ALVA by four holes
Alloa names first
Ian Ross & Ian Guthrie bt Michael Robertson & Paul Davidson 2 holes
Scott Moffat & David Milloy bt Steve McIvor & Lawrence Allan 2 holes.
Jamie Aitken & John Salmond halved with Kevin McFarlane & Allan Aitken

The Clackmanna boys' match-play events were held last week when the qualifiers from the championship played off over Braehead, Alva and Tillicoultry.
In the Anderson Trophy for Under 14 boys, it was an all-Braehead final with Rikky Alexander scraping through at the 20th in a tense match against the stylish Grant Murray. Rikky established a one-hole lead after nine, but Grant fought back to square the match twice, took a lead at 17, then lost the 18th.

Grant Murray (Braehead) bt Angus Boyd (Alloa) 5 and 4.
Rikky Alexander (Braehead) bt Scott Beattie (Braehead) 4 and 3.
Alexander bt Murray at 20th

The final of the handicap Jubilee Trophy was an all-Alloa affair and played on level terms with both Calums playing from 10 of a handicap. In the end it was Calum Boyd who won through against Calum Graham, turning his one-hole lead at the turn to a 5 and 4 win. In the semi-finals, Boyd beat Grant Ross (Alloa) and Graham beat Steven Watson (Tillicoultry).
The senior boys’ match-play event is still to be finished due to Lawrence Allan competing in the Clackmannan county fours final. Allan will take on Tillicoultry’s Kevin Ross over Tillicoultry this week.
Although losing to Lawrence Allan over Alva, Alloa’s Ryan Millar had a good tournament, beating Dollar’s Gary Chalmers by one hole over Braehead, then giving Lawrence a good game over Alva.
Ryan was one up at the turn, but Lawrence gradually took over on the inward nine, winning on the 16th green.
Holder Scott Baird (Tillicoultry) lost in the first round to Alloa’s John Salmond who in turn lost to Kevin Ross over Alva. Ross was three up after eight. Then John fought back to square the match by the 16th. Kevin won 17 and then one up and fired up he holed a good 5ft putt on the last green to reach the final.

Lawrence Allan (Alva) bt Ryan Millar (Alloa) 3 and 2.
Kevin Ross (Tillicoultry) bt John Salmond (Alloa) 1 hole

Clackmannan county selectors have picked a strong team for the new format Scottish area team championship, to be played over the Kinross golf courses this coming weekend.
Each of the 16 areas will field a team of six players who will play 36 holes stroke play on the Saturday with the best four areas qualifying for match play on the Sunday: semi-finals in the morning, final in the afternoon.
Team captain John Gullen is confident “Our team is experienced, and hopefully on the day they will produce some good scores comparable with the other areas.”
Selected to represent Clackmannan are:
Steven Horne, John Maxwell (both Tulliallan), Scott Moffat, Jamie Aitken (both Alloa) and Scott Borrowman, Darren Hulston (both Dollar).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google