Wednesday, April 08, 2009

Strathlene boys almost pull off double whammy

Chris Robb scrapes

through at 20th

into last 32

Scottish schoolboys title-holder Chris Robb (Inchmarlo) is through to the last 32 of the Scottish boys' championship at Royal Aberdeen.
But full-time golfer Chris, pictured right by Cal Carson Golf Agency, was given his toughest test so far ... and had to go to the 20th hole in his third-round tie before getting the better of Buckie boy Ryan Bain.
Bain is a member of Strathlene Golf Club and clubmate John Drummond, a four-handicapper, caused the biggest upset of the third day by beating Paul McPheee (King James VI).
McPhee, a scratch player and winner of the Scottish Under-14 boys' open stroke-play title in 2006 at Deeside Golf Club, also in Aberdeen, was beaten 2 and 1 by the bespectacled Drummond.
Drummond showed that result was no fluke by going out again in the afternoon and advancing to the last 32 with a 3 and 1 win over Anglo-Scot Andrew Smith from the Ponteland club in the North-east of England.
Top seed David Law continues to justify his rating . He is into the fourth round - and still have to play the last three holes. He won by 4 and 3 against Ryan Campbell (Grangemouth) in the third round and now plays Calum McLean (Cowglen).
Ian Redford (St Andrews New), another of the fancied contenders for the Under-18s' match-play crown, had his second last-green win in a row, disposing of Scott Costello (Kirkhill) to earn what will almost certainly be another all-the-way tie against Edinburgh's Tom Blennerhassett (Marriott Dalmahoy). Blennerhasset had his biggest win so far, by 5 and 4 over Dundee's Matthew Reid (Downfield) to advance to the round of the last 32.
Paul Shields (Kirkhill), beaten by Michael Stewart in last year's final, must be nurturing hopes that he can go all the way again this week.

In the evening play, Shields was a 5 and 4 winner over Thomas White (Milnathort) and now plays Alexander Ferguson (Paisley) for a place in the last 16.

Scottish boys' championship scoreboard
Balgownie Links, Bridge of Don.

SECOND ROUND (continued)
Zac Clark (Royal Aberdeen bt Cameron West (Scotscraig) at 19th.

Jamie Reid (Cruden Bay) bt Cameron Nelson (Nairn) 4 and 2.
Michael Manson (Fortrose & Rosemarkie) bt Christopher Lamb (Newmachar) 4 and 3.

Steven Smith (Deeside) bt Grant Dowie (Alloa) 2 and 1.
Kevin Moran (Dullatur) bt Lewis Morgan (Kemnay) 8 and 6.

Simon Fairburn (Galashiels) bt Alexander McGregor (Greenock) 6 and 4.
Alan Welsh (Torrance House) bt James Steven (Kirkhill) 4 and 2.

Fraser Grant (Ralston) bt David Wilson (Troon Welbeck) 1 hole.
Blair Pelling (Prestonfield) bt Peter Ramsay (Elgin) 7 and 5.

Ben Lindsay (Blairgowrie) bt Mark Murphy (Cawder) 5 and 3.
Daniel Young (Craigie Hill) bt Arran McHardy (Prestonfield) 5 and 4.

Joshua Jamieson (St Andrews New) bt Gavin Hay (Grantown on Spey) 2 holes.
Jamie Lynch (Falkirk) bt Daniel McConnachie (Dumfries & Co) 3 and 1.

John Drummond (Strathlene) bt Paul McPhee (King James VI) 2 and 1.
Andrew Smith (Ponteland) bt Greg Smail (Craigielaw) at 19th.

Robbie Gauld (Cruden Bay) bt Matthew McWilliam (McDonald Ellon) 4 and 3.
Craig Chalmers (Murcar Links) bt Daniel Muir (Cochrane Castle) 4 and 2.

Grant Forrest (Craigielaw) bt Donald Brown (Murrayfield) 6 and 4.
Marc Smith (Troon Welbeck) bt Jordan Lamb (Peebles) 5 and 4.

Neale Barnes (Deeside) bt Anthony Blaney (Liberton) 2 and 1.
Craig Ross (Kirkhill) bt Andrew Wright (Kilmarnock Barassie) 2 and 1.

Ryan Simpson (Bonnyton) bt Shaun Connor (Ralston) 1 hole.
Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) bt Stuart Gray (West Lothian) at 19th.

Callum Bisset (Glenbervie) bt Cameron McLean (West Kilbride) 1 hole.
Gary Meechan (Dullatur) bt Jack Thorburn (Forrester Park) 3 and 2.

Paul O'Day (Uphall) bt Michael Maxwell (Carnoustie Caledonia) 2 and 1.
Conor O'Neil (Glasgow) bt Rodger Clarke (Moray) 5 and 4.

Daniel Kay (Dunbar) bt Lawrence Allan (Alva) 6 and 5.
John Henry (Clydebank & Dist) bt Ryan Gordon (Alford) 8 and 6.

Lewis Cullen (Eastwood) bt Jamie Treasurer (Inverness) 6 and 5.
Scott Young (Turnhouse) bt Cameron Farrell (Cardross) 4 and 3.

Ross Gordon (Peterhead) bt Grant Carnegie (Dunblane New) at 22nd.
Philip Gordon (Paisley) bt Connor Neil (Blairgowrie) 2 and 1.

Callum Stewart (Brora) bt Sean Murdoch (East Renfrewshire) 6 and 5.
David Wright (Cathcart Castle) bt Jamie Alexander (Greenock Whinhill) 4 and 2.

Louis Gaughan (Bathgate) bt Sam MacNeil (Inchmarlo) 7 and 6.
Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt Andrew Loch (Pumpherston) 4 and 3.

Michael Davidson (Tantallon) bt Gordon Reilly (Lochwinnoch) 6 and 5.
Euan Mackay (Torphin Hill) bt Lee Milligan (Dumbarton) 1 hole.

Daniel Flannery (Peebles) bt Grant Bowman (Monifieth) 3 and 1.
Chris Low (Tantallon) bt Mark Thomson (Grange) 2 and 1.

Thomas White (Milnathort) bt Gary Ross (Elgin) 2 and 1.
Paul Shields (Kirkhill) bt Jamie Auchinvole (Glenbervie) 5 and 4.

Alexander Ferguson (Paisley) bt Jordan Milne (Elgin) 4 and 3.
Craig Goodwin (Loudoun Gowf) bt Stephen Machin (Cowglen) 4 and 3.


Calum McLean (Cowglen) bt Liam Johnston (Dumfries & Co) 4 and 3.
David Law (Hazlehead) bt Ryan Campbell (Grangemouth) 4 and 3.

Neal Beattie (St Andrews) bt Scott Wearing (Bishopbriggs) 4 and 2.
Simon Taylor (Germanmy) bt Josh Renwick (Uphall) 1 hole.

Ewen Donaldson (Craigielaw) bt Scott Wightman (Powfoot) 2 and 1.
Danny Edwards (Elgin) bt Peter Renwick (Invergordon) 2 and 1.

Ian Redford (St Andrews New) bt Scott Costello (Kirkhill) 1 hole.
Tom Blennerhassett (Marriott Dalmahoy) bt Matthew Reid (Downfield) 5 and 4.

Chris Robb (Inchmarlo) bt Ryan Bain (Strathlene) at 20th.
Ewan Scott (St Andrews) bt Zac Clark (Royal Aberdeen) 4 and 3.

Michael Manson (Fortrose & Rosemarkie) bt Jamie Reid (Cruden Bay) 2 and 1.
Steven Smith (Deeside) bt Kevin Moran (Dullatur) 4 and 3.

Simon Fairburn (Galashields) bt Alan Welsh (Torrance House) 5 and 3.
Blair Pelling (Prestonfield) bt Fraser Grant (Ralston) 2 and 1.

Daniel Young (Craigie Hill) bt Ben Lindsay (Blairgowrie) 4 and 2.
Jamie Lynch (Falkirk) bt Joshua Jamieson (St Andrews New) at 19th.

John Drummond (Strathlene0 bt Andrew Smith (Ponteland) 3 and 1.
Craig Chalmers (Murcar Links) bt Robbie Gauld (Cruden Bay) 5 and 4.

Marc Smith (Troon Welbeck) bt Grant Forrest (Craigielaw) 1 hole.
Craig Ross (Kirkhill) bt Neale Barnes (Deeside) 3 and 2.

Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) bt Ryan Simpson (Bonnyton) 1 hole.
Gary Meechan (Dullatur) bt Calum Bisset (Glenbervie) 2 and 1.

Conor O'Neil (Glasgow) bt Paul O'Day (Uphall) 5 and 3.
Daniel Kay (Dunbar) bt John Henry (Clydebank & Dist) 3 and 2.

Lewis Cullen (Eastwood) bt Scott Young (Turnhouse) 3 and 1.
Philip Gordon (Paisley) bt Ross Gordon (Peterhead) 3 and 2.

Callum Stewart (Brora) bt David Wright (Cathcart Castle) 8 and 6.
Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) bt Louis Gaughan (Bathgate) 3 and 1.

Euan Mackay (Torphin Hill) bt Michael Davidson (Tantallon) 2 and 1.
Daniel Flannery (Peebles) v Chris Low (Tantallon) - unfinished.

Paul Shields (Kirkhill) bt Thomas White (Milnathort) 6 and 4.
Alexander Ferguson (Paisley) bt Craig Goodwin (Loudoun Gowf) 2 and 1.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google