Sunday, August 13, 2017

Hannah Darling three shots clear in Scottish 

U14 girls' open championship

Hannah Darling (Broomieknowe), youngest winner of the Scottish U18 girls' championship a few weeks ago, is leading the girls' field by three strokes while South African Casey Jarvis and Rory McDonald-O'Brien (Lilleshall) are sharing the boys' lead in the Loretto School Under-14 girls and boys' open tournament at Crail Golf Club, Fife.

Hannah, pictured, posted an very good round of 73, one-under-par for the Craighead course. She had four birdies and three bogeys in halves of 39 and 34.
Her nearest rivals on 76 are Anna McKay, playing over her home course and the youngest winner of the Fife women's county championship earlier this season, and Wales' Ffion Tynan (Minchinhampton).
Carmen Griffiths (Aboyne) is in fourth place with a 76.
In boys' championship, being staged over the Balcomie Links, Casey Jarvis, winner of the English U14s' title last week, and Rory McDonald-O'Brian are sharing the pole position on two-under 70. 
They are a shot ahead of Aidan O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly) and two Continental players, Riccardo Roberto (Italy) and Theo Boulet (France).
T P F Smith (St Andrews) is tied sixth with a 72.
Outstanding Nairn prospect Calum D Scott is T12 with a 74 and C G Daun T20 on 75.

Crail GS Craighead course (par 74)
73 H Darling (Broomieknowe).
76 A McKay (Crail GS), F Tynan (Minchinhampton).
77 C Griffiths (Aboyne).
78 D Harry (Vale Resort, Wales).
79 R Fowlie (Edzell), E Henderson (Loretto School).

Other Scots' scores included:
81 R Foster (Turnberry).
85 G Crawford (Gullane)
86 M Docherty (Bishopbriggs).
87 L Morrison (Craigmillar Park)
88 A Gorka (Loretto School), R Mathieson (Hazlehead).

Crail GS Balcomie Links (par 72)
70 C Jarvis (SAf), R McDonald-O'Brien (Lilleshall).
71 R Roberto (Ita), A O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly), T Boulet (Fra)

72 T P F Smith (St Andrews).
74 C Currie (Turnhouse), C D Scott (Nairn).
75 C G Daun (Inverness).
76 G Cannon (Falkirk).
77 C Adam (Royal Burgess).
78 C Sharpe (Blairgowrie), A Saleem (St Andrews New).
79 C Johnstone (Troon Welbeck), G Graham (Blairgowrie).
82 J Vogelpohl (Forrester Park).
83 J Mann (Vilamoura), A Wyatt (Loretto School), F Russell (Royal Troon).
84 L Taylor (Bearsden).
86 C Graham (Blairgowrie), P Brown (Monifieth).
88 V Hundeboll (North Berwick).



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google