New year.  New clubs.
Same Rory McIlroy.
Using a varied selection of tools, McIlroy began his 2017 professional season today with a solid 5-under par round of 67 in the first round of the BMW South African Open at Glendower Golf Club. near Johannesburg.
His round included a trio of birdie 2s
South Africans Trevor Fisher and Keith Horne share the lead on six-under 66 - one shot ahead of a group of five which includes McIlroy.
McIlroy’s appearance in South Africa is a positive payback to his good friend Ernie Els. He was widely considered a pre-tournament favourite by many, including Els himself.
Former European Ryder Cup captain Darren Clarke also began his 2017 on a solid note, shooting a 2-under 70. He is tied for 16th.
McIlroy drew the vast majority of the big crowds at Glendower Golf Club near Johannesburg
He began on the 10th and hammered his opening competitive drive of the new year 392 yards straight down the fairway. Four consecutive pars were followed by birdie putts on 15, 15, 16 and 17.
Scot David Drysdale is tied for 27th place after a two-under-par 70 which saw him birdie the first, sixth, eighth, 11th and 15th in halves of 34 (two under) and 36 (level par). The Dunbar man bogeyed the ninth, 17th and 18th
Duncan Stewart from Grantown on Spey birdied the long 15th and short 17th to put a respectable finish to his round of six-over 78. He had six bogeys on an outward 42 and then slumped to eight over with two more bogeys at the 11th and 12th.
The Edinburgh-based Scot is joint 140th.
Two more Scots licking their wounds after the opening day were amateur Craig Ross and Scott Henry, both returning seven-over-79s. Ross had no birdies in halves of 39-30. Henry had a double bogey 6 at the fourth but did birdie the 12th and 15th.
They are joint 147th in a field of 156 players.

players from South African unless stated otherwise
PAR 72
66 K Horne, T Fisher Jnr
67 D Burmester, J Smith (Eng); R McIlroy  (NIr), T Aiken, J Kruger
68 D Fichardt, A Björk (Swe), M Foster (Eng),  J Fahrbring (Swe), O Fisher  (Eng)
69 D Brooks (Eng); J Walters, U Van Den Berg, R Johnson (Swe); C Nel, G Storm  (Eng); S Tiley (Eng); J Stalter (Fra); S Norris, J Winther (Den); L Canter (Eng); B Rumford (Aus); S Soderberg (Swe); S Dyson  (Eng)
70 N Fasth (Swe); J Morrison  (Eng); N Schietekat (RSA); C Bezuidenhout, J Kamte, M Hollick, J Harding, P Uihlein  (USA); G Coetzee, R Langasque  (Fra); S Faldo (Eng); D Clarke (NIr); D Drysdale (Sco); T Moore (RSA); P Waring  (Eng); J Hugo 
71 A Knappe (Ger); P Maddy (Eng); G Mulroy , C Hanson (Eng); D Frittelli, A Otaegui  (Esp); D Van Der Walt, E Molinari  (Ita); B Ritthammer (Ger); J Van Zyl, K McClatchie (am)
72 S Engell Andersen  (Ken); O Strydom, R Bland (Eng); T Van Der Walt,R Van Der Spuy, D Perrier (Fra); T Detry  (Bel); E Van Rooyen, L Bjerregaard  (Den); P Angles  (Esp); M Siem  (Ger); P Widegren  (Swe); M Korhonen (Fin); A Georgiou, H Porteous, J Kingston, T Lewis (Eng); C Du Plessis, P Karmis, J Ahlers, R De Smidt, J Blaauw, R McGowan  (Eng);
73 M Pavon (Fra); E Kofstad (Nor); T Ferreira, D Van Tonder, C Basson, R Gonzalez (Arg); J Agren (Swe); S Ferreira, M Muthiya  (Zam); J Donaldson (Wal); R Echenique (Arg); C Swanepoel, V Groenewald, H Du Plessis, A Da Silva (Bra); J Kruyswijk, G King (Eng); J Rutherford (Eng); J Rebula (am)
74 J Parry (Eng); B Easton, E Els, S Heisele (Ger); M Armitage (Eng); B Stone, D Petersen, D McGuigan, A Michael, J Van Der Wath, L Rowe, A McLardy, N Johansson (Swe); H Bruiners, T Bezuidenhout (am), M Steyn (am)
75 H Otto, D Greene, A Chesters  (Eng); M Orrin (Eng); A Karlsson  (Swe); L Ndwandwe, M Bremner, M Madsen  (Den); J Strydom, C Pigem  (Esp); M Nixon (Eng); M Cayeux (Zim); N Kimsey (Eng); D De Smidt (am), P Geerts (am) (Ita);
76 S Walker (Eng); Z Lombard, M Mazibuko, O Bekker, A Haindl, S Vincent (Zim); E Pepperell (Eng)
77 D Horsey (Eng); C Bolling  (USA); A Curlewis, T Dodds (Nam); L De Jager, D Naidoo (am).
78 L Slattery (Eng); C Mowat, M Southgate  (Eng); D Stewart (Sco); J Ritchie, J Van Eeden, A Sullivan (Eng)
79 N Bertasio (Ita); T Tree (Eng); C Blomstrand (Swe); S Henry  (Sco); C Paisley  (Eng); C Ross (Sco) (am)
80 R West, R Goosen
81 S Bujela, J Dreyer (am)