Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Scottish stars miss Home Internationals at 

Nairn to play in US Amateur Championship
         The Scotland team of six who won the European title for the second year in a row.

Four Scots have qualified to play in next month's United States Amateur Championship, bidding to follow in the footsteps of Richie Ramsay.
Thanks to their World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) inside the top 50, Grant Forrest, Robert MacIntyre, Ewen Ferguson and Connor Syme will all tee up at Oakland Hills from August 15-21.
It's a return trip for Forrest (Craigielaw) and Bearsden's Ferguson, currently nursing a hand injury, after the Walker Cup team winners both played in the event at Olympia Fields Country Club 12 months ago.
Indeed, Forrest will compete for a third year in a row after playing in 2014 alongside compatriot Bradley Neil.
Forrest, MacIntyre and Syme were all part of Scotland's recent defence of the European Men's Amateur team title, while the trio are also representing GB and I in this week's St Andrews Trophy. Drumoig’s Syme also won the Australian Amateur title at the start of the year, while MacIntyre (Glencruitten) finished runner-up in the British Amateur Championship.
Syme said: "Top 50 was my target at the start of the year and reaching there has now helped me achieve goals in qualifying for the US Amateur and competing for GB and I in the St Andrews Trophy.
"The four of us are now in the top 30 in the world rankings so we're all chasing each other's tails and the competition is great. I'm looking forward to the US Amateur as I've never played competitively in America before and I know Oakland Hills is an amazing course."
All four players now won’t compete for Scotland in the Home Internationals at Nairn (August 10-12) after qualifying for the US Amateur.
A total of 312 players from over 20 countries will contest the US Amateur title, with three-time European Tour winner Ramsay a past winner of the event in 2006 at Hazeltine, this year's Ryder Cup venue. 
Oakland Hills hosted the 2004 Ryder Cup, while Padraig Harrington claimed Major glory when he won the PGA Championship at the course in 2008.
The top 50 point leaders and anyone tying for 50th place on WAGR as of 29 June are exempt from US Amateur Sectional Qualifying.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google