By COLIN FARQUHARSON
Kirkcaldy's Peter Whiteford is the latest "victim" of those who watch TV coverage of professional golf tournaments not for pleasure but to see if they can spot a competitor who is inadvertently breaking the rules.
Chasing his maiden European Tour title, the Scot was only one behind overnight, but eagle-eyed viewers alerted European Tour Chief Referee John Paramor to an incident on the 18th fairway during the third round.
Whiteford’s ball moved fractionally after he had addressed it, and having already signed for an incorrect score he was informed of his disqualification upon reaching the fourth tee in today's final round.
The disqualification means Whiteford does not get any prizemoney at all from an event which, for a long time, looked like providing a very good payday for the Fifer.
FROM THE SKYSPORTS.COM WEBSITEl