Wednesday, October 16, 2019


Weather still holding out and 63 East Alliance members enjoyed a very well presented course at Royal Musselburgh today. Thanks to the Greens Team and all in the Clubhouse and Pro Shop for looking after all.
Some good scoring on the par 70 (36-34) East Lothian venue and early starter Craig Surgeon of Newbattle set a score that could not be beaten both on the scratch and handicap front to ensure his name goes on the Andrew Oldcorn Trophy for 2019.
Craig stormed out in 3 under par, with birdies at 3rd, 4th and 5th and a one under par back nine secured a gross 66 (33-33).
In close pursuit for top scratch prize were Marc Owenson and Zander Culverwell but they both fell one shot behind on 67 despite Marc heading out in 32 and Zander coming home in 32. Trophy presenter Andrew Oldcorn had to settle for a very credible 68 to share 4th Scratch Prize.
On the handicap front Willie Miller (Falkirk Tryst) was next best net score on 68 (78 less 10) and took top prize due to Craig claiming top Scratch Prize. Second  Handicap Prize went to  Walter Forsyth (Peebles ) on net 69 (74 less 5).
The results show no Senior Winner today but this is due to a myriad of players being on net 70 including 5 Seniors so the Secretary decided 3rd Handicap and Senior Prizes should be shared amongst them.
Five Trainees played today and very pleasing to see all 5 were in the prizes. Zander Culverwell and Marc Owenson shared 2nd spot in main Scratch Prizes.
New Member Myles Cunningham of Gullane was Top Trainee on 72 and Local Assistant Cameron Brown (Royal Musselburgh) and Callum Greenhill (Renaissance Club) shared 2nd prize on 74.
With 3 events underway the Order of merits are shaping up and top 5 in each are -
1. Ian Anderson (Shotts) - 172.5
2. Marc Owenson (Gullane) - 168.5
3. Ross Munro (Golf Clubs 4 Cash) - 147.0
4. Richard Johnston (Glenbervie) - 146.5
5. Neil Henderson (Renaissance Club) -m 146.0
1. Willie Laing (Prestonfield) - 62.0
2. Scott Fraser (Mortonhall) - 46.0
3. David Eardley (Broomieknowe) - 44.5
4. Craig Surgeon (Newbattle) - 42.0
5. Ross Callan (Bathgate) - 40.5

Next week it is off to the Capital for the usual warm welcome we get at Duddingston Golf Club.

Alan Greenshields
Secretary/ Treasurer
Edinburgh and East of Scotland Golfers' Alliance
18 Woodfield Park
EH13 0RB

Mobile: 07730 007100

Andrew Oldcorn Trophy Royal Musselburgh 16.10.19Scratch Scores
1  Surgeon  Craig  Newbattle  Amateur  662  Culverwell  Zander  Renaissance Club Trainee  673  Owenson  Marc  Gullane  Trainee  674  Anderson  Ian  Shotts  Professional  685  Oldcorn  Andrew  Ratho Park  Professional  687  Huguet  Norman  Musselburgh  Professional

8  Noon  Ross  Renaissance Club Amateur 719  Cunningham  Myles

Gullane Trainee 72
10  Flannery  Daniel  Renaissance Club Professional

11 Kanev Michael  Lochgelly  Professional7212  Erskine  Andrew  Ratho Park Professional 7313  Marshall  Andrew  Houston G.R. Professional 7314  Rudd  David  Longniddry Amateur 7315  Brown  Cameron Royal Musselburgh Trainee 7416  Forsyth Walter Peebles Senior 7417  Fraser  Colin 'Peebles Amateur 7418 Greenhill  Callum  Renaissance Club Trainee 7419 Henderson Neil Renaissance Club Professional 7420 Johnston Richard Glenbervie Amateur 7421 Louden Michael Glencorse Senior 7422 Munro  Ross Golf Clubs 4 Cash Professional 7423 Reid Scott Musselburgh Amateur 7424 Davies  Mark Newbattle Amateur 7525 Dick  James Duddingston Professional 7526 McAdam  Marc Mortonhall Amateur 7527 Reid Brian Dunbar Senior 7528 Callan Ross Bathgate Amateur 7629 Renton Roy Archerfield Links Amateur 7630  Grant  Ronald  Baberton Senior 7731 Thomson  Brian  Kilspindie Senior 7732  Dand  Steve Archerfield Links Senior 7833  Miller  Willie  Falkirk Tryst Senior 7834   Cockburn Robin Stirling Senior 7935  Eardley David Broomieknowe Senior 7936  Gordon Neil Dunbar Amateur 7937 Jeavons Ian Dunbar Senior 7938 Johnston Graeme D Glenbervie Amateur 7939 Laing William Prestonfield Senior 7940 Binnie Colin Ratho Park Amateur 8041 Byars Brian Harrison (Braids) Amateur 8242 Fyfe Ian Musselburgh Senior 8243 Skinner Grant Glencorse Amateur 8244 MacDonald Andrew Prestonfield Senior 8345 Silvestro James Dalmahoy Amateur 8346 Bootland Hinton Duddingston Senior 8447 Brown Gordon Baberton Amateur 8448 Kennedy Gordon Ratho Park Amateur 8449 Leggate Philip Musselburgh Senior 8450 Masterton John Mortonhall Senior 8651 Whyte Jordan Royal Aberdeen Amateur 8752 Girvan Scott Baberton Senior 8853 Marshall Graeme Kingsknowe Amateur 8854 Roberts Graham Liberton Amateur 8955 Wyse Ian Falkirk Tryst Senior 8956 Cowen Pete West Lothian Amateur 9057 Jervis Derek Prestonfield Senior 9458 Miller Bill Baberton Senior 9459 Phillips Keith Mortonhall Amateur 9460 Kay Michael Dalmahoy Amateur 9761 Chrystal Brian Baberton Senior NR62 Veitch Michael Peebles Amateur NR63 Wither George Liberton Senior NR


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google