Friday, September 20, 2019

NORTHERN COUNTIES CUP: Nairn 1 beat Nairn 2

Forres made an impressive start to their defence of the Northern Counties Cup men's double foursomes match-play title at Nairn Golf Club with a nine-hole victory over Nairn Dunbar today.
"Big guns" in the Forres line-up are Bryan Fotheringham and Jeff Wright.
Royal Aberdeen 1 did well to survive a tough opening tie against Brora whose lead-off pair, Ross Naismith and Andrew Stewart notched a two-hole margin victory over Nick Macandrew and Craig Leith.
That put the pressure on Niall Young and Daniel Sim but the Balrownie second string were equal to the task and won with something to spare … a five-hole margin overturning Brora's lead from the first tie.
Royal Aberdeen 1 celebrated their first-round win with a 14-hole romp at the expense of Orkney 1 in the afternoon.

Royal Aberdeen 1 bt Brora by three holes.
Nick Macandrew, Craig Leith 0, Ross Naismith, Andy Stewart 2.
Niall Young, Daniel Sim 5 Grant Ross, Roddy Cameron 0.

Elgin 1 bt Orkney 2 by 13 holes
Dave Hector, Andrew Moir 5, Colin Harkness, Euan Donaldson 0.
Richie Bremner, Danny Edwards 8, Martin Fleet, Jonny Russell 0.

Tain bt Fortrose and Rosemarkie by one hole.
B Ferris, A Everett 3, Alan Cameron, Lewis Reid 0.
M Ferris, S Kennedy 0, Mike McDonald, Chris Seetings 2.

Forres bt Nairn Dunbar by nine holes.
Bryan Fotheringham, Stuart MacLennan 4, Angus Davidson, Calum McLeod 0.
Jeff Wright, Grant Stuart 5, Richard Johnston 4, A N Other 0.

Royal Aberdeen 1 bt Orkney 1 by 14 holes.
N Macandrew, C Leith 11, Andrew Bonner, Peter McKenzie 0.
Niall Young, Daniel Sim 3, Ewan Rendall, Stuart Slater 0.

Nigg Bay bt Inverness by four holes.
Gordon Grimmer, Steven Jamieson 0, Kieran Mackay, Jonathan Keith 3.
Lee O'Connor, Ryan Forbes 7, Bruce Thomson, David Joel 0.

Cruden Bay bt Elgin 2 by three holes.
Gary McDonald, Don King 6, Islay Green, Billy Devine 0.
Curtis Stephens, Alister Kinghorn 0, Darren McKenzie, John Westwood 3.

Tain bt Moray 2 at 20th
B Ferris, A Everett 0, Ryan Copland, Neil Stables 5.
M Ferris, S Kennedy 5, Darren Pitchforth, Nat Simpson 0.

Nairn 1 bt Nairn 2 by five holes
Andrew Burgess, Logan Gillies 4, Findlay Asher, Rory Asher 0.
Fraser Fotheringham, Jamie Lloyd 1, Calum Daun, Scott Lawrie 0.

Invergordon bt Wick by 10 holes
Steve Buchan, Gary Urquhart 4, Alan Larnach, Ally MacKay 0.
David McCormack, Kenneth Hearton 6, Alan Forbes, Chris Taylor 0.

Banchory 2 bt Newmachar 2 by five holes
David Brand, Craig Lindsay 4, Liam Strath, Andrew Hepburn 0.
Blair Milne, Fergus Bisset 1, Andrew Chan, Alan Strath 0.

Royal Aberdeen 2 bt Royal Dornoch 1 by two holes
Don Macandrew, Grant Joss 0, Graham Minton, Alastair McNaughton 0
Douglas Purdie, Mike Wilson 2, Brian Watson, David MacIntosh 0.

Deeside bt Royal Dornoch 2 by five holes
David Macklin, Tom Rennie 6, Neil Campbell, William Short 0.
Jamie Hall, Alan Ross 0, Mike Thompson, Graeme Bethune 1.

Newmachar 1 bt Wick 1 by seven holes
Martin Lawrie, Mark Rae 0, Gordon Steven, Douglas Thorburn 0.
Chris Simpson, Mark McKechnie 7, Nicky Klimas, Gary Davidson 0.

Banchory 1 bt Turriff by three holes
Fergus Milne, Ben Reid 0, Scott Clarihew, Bruce Mitchell 3.
Adam Lindsay, Lindsay Smart 6, John Dalgarno, Sean Low 0.

Murcar Links bt Muir of Ord 2 by four holes
Bryan Innes, Terry Mathieson 4, Nathan Mackenzie, Thomas Nicholson 0.
Anthony Bews, Chris Somers 9, Darren Healey, John Forbes 0.

Moray 1 bt Muir of Ord 1 by nine holes
Malcolm MacLeman, Graham Murray 7, Greg Forsyth, Shaw Johnston 0.
Kevin Thompson, Jordan Edwards 2, Scott Forbes, Jamie Wittet 0.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google