Wednesday, August 21, 2019



Barclay Brown from Hallamshire, England will captain Great 
Britain and Ireland for a second time when it plays against 
the Continent of Europe in the Jacques Léglise Trophy.
The R and A announced today the GB and I team for the 
match at Aldeburgh Golf Club in England on Friday and 
Saturday August 30-31. 
The nine player team is:
Barclay Brown (18) (Captain)
Hallamshire, England
Archie Davies (18)
Carlisle, Wales
Joshua Hill (16)
Galgorm Castle, Ireland
Aaron Marshall (18)
Lisburn, Ireland
Tom McKibbin (16)
Holywood, Ireland
Connor McKinney (17)
Joondalup (Australia), Scotland
Luke O’Neill (18)
Connemara, Ireland
Joseph Pagdin (17)
Lake Nona, England
Benjamin Schmidt (17)
Rotherham, England

The GB and I team, which will be managed for the third time 
by Forfar's Stuart Wilson, who won The Amateur 
Championship in 2004, will be looking to defend the Jacques 
Léglise Trophy after they won 15½ -9½ at Kytäjä Golf in 
Finland last year.
Wilson has assembled a strong GB and I team with five players returning from the 2018 winning line-up, including playing captain Barclay Brown who won three of the four matches he was involved in last year.
“It’s a really good week and a tough team to make so it’s always nice to get picked,” said Brown.
“There are nine great players competing so I think we have a great chance of winning. We have a really strong team.
“It’s a great honour to be the captain again this year. We won last year so hopefully we will be able to defend.”
In good form, Brown advanced through to the semi-finals at the 93rd R&A Boys Amateur Championship at Saunton last week after defeating his teammate Joseph Pagdin in the fourth round of match play where Connor McKinney, the leading qualifier, also exited the championship. Both Pagdin and McKinney will tee it up at Aldeburgh alongside Welsh Amateur champion Archie Davies, who will play in the match again after featuring in Finland last year.
Among the newcomers is Benjamin Schmidt who is ranked No.8 in the WAGR™ and was named as the 1st reserve for the GB&I Walker Cup team this week. Also making their debut in the Jacques Léglise Trophy are Joshua Hill, the 2019 McGregor Trophy champion, Aaron Marshall, the Irish Boys’ Amateur champion and Luke O’Neill, the German Boys’ Open champion.
The Continent of Europe last won the match in 2017 at Ballybunion in Ireland after successfully defending the title it won in 2016 at Prince’s.
Since the Jacques Léglise Trophy was first contested in 1958, GB&I has won 29 matches overall with the Continent of Europe claiming 12 victories with one match tied.
The format for the Jacques Léglise Trophy is four foursomes matches each morning, eight singles matches on the afternoon of Friday 30 August and nine singles matches on the afternoon of Saturday 31 August.
For scoring and reports from the matches please visit

The Jacques Léglise Trophy
The Jacques Léglise Trophy Match is played annually between boys representing Great Britain and Ireland and the Continent of Europe. The match was inaugurated in 1958 but suspended in 1966. It was rejuvenated in 1977 when the Jacques Léglise Trophy was presented by Jean-Louis Dupont of Golf de Chantilly in memory of Jacques Léglise, a past French champion and captain who had served as President of the French Golf Federation and of the European Golf Association.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Copyright © Colin Farquharson

If you can't find what you are looking for.... please check the Archive List or search this site with Google